Migration assistant. Best way to do it?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by skiltrip, Feb 10, 2011.

  1. skiltrip macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Location:
    New York
    #1
    I am going to migrate everything from my MBP to a new iMac. Is it better to "set up from another Mac" the first time I boot the Mac, or do it later with migration assistant?

    And when I do it, does my MBP have to be in FireWire target mode or can it be booted normally?
     
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    Neither is better. I usually just do it right from the install disc/initial setup.
     
  3. grawk macrumors 6502

    grawk

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Location:
    Southern York County, PA
    #3
    If you're doing it over firewire, put the old one in target mode.

    There's no difference if you do it at first boot, or later with migration assistant.
     
  4. skiltrip thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Location:
    New York
    #4
    Cool. That's kind of what I needed to know.

    So if I wanted to just check out the new iMac for a bit first before I pull my stuff in I could do that, then do migration assistant later.
    Good to know.
     
  5. skiltrip thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Location:
    New York

Share This Page