Migration Assistant: FireWire/Ethernet vs Time Machine

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ciarals, Jun 14, 2012.

  1. ciarals macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Location:
    Italy
    #1
    Hi all! I'm curious about one thing of the Migration Assistant.

    Let's imagine this situation: I have a Time Machine updated to today. I haven't my MacBook with me (maybe sold, broken, etc...): if I use the Migration Assistant, the files will be copied using the Time Machine backup. The result would be the same if I had used the FireWire/Ethernet directly connected from my old MacBook to my new one? What are the differences (if there are)?

    Thanks for your answer.
     
  2. flatfoot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #2
    The result is the same. Migrating from a backup is usually faster than from another Mac, assuming the backup drive isn't attached to the new Mac via USB.
     
  3. ciarals thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Location:
    Italy
    #3
    Thanks for your reply. So the Time Machine backup is 100% my Mac's drive?

    Is it better to rebuild the Time Machine backup from scratch before doing this job, or is it OK to use my actual backup (live from 3 years)?

    Thanks again for your answer.
     
  4. flatfoot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #4
    It's ok to use the update as it is. Just make sure nothing you need is excluded in Time Machine's preferences.

    The update is not 100% your Mac's drive. A version of OS X has to be present on the target drive.
     
  5. ciarals thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Location:
    Italy
    #5
    Yes, of course... I was intending a part from the OS.

    Thanks again for your help ;)
     
  6. ciarals thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Location:
    Italy
    #6
    Just another question: the Migration Assistant will mess up the new destination OS?
    I'm not talking of what is clearly visibile... I know all my apps, docs, etc. will be copied. I mean in the background of MacOS... You know, like in Windows, registry, system files, dlls, etc... Here maybe other things... Don't know, just asking.
    Thanks for your reply.
     
  7. flatfoot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #7
    No, the OS won't be messed up. Migration Assistant knows the source and destination OS and will migrate files accordingly; also those that go into the "system folders", like preferences files of the apps you migrate etc.
     
  8. ciarals thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Location:
    Italy

Share This Page