migration assistant help

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by zblaxberg, Oct 24, 2007.

  1. zblaxberg Guest

    zblaxberg

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    #1
    so is it possible to backup all of my documents, music, applications etc. to my external hard drive by using migration assistant? I have never used it before and I just wanted to check if this is possible. Will I need to reinstall any of my apps such as adobe cs3?
     
  2. zblaxberg thread starter Guest

    zblaxberg

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    #3
    anyone at all? is there a mod that can answer this?
     
  3. FJ218700 macrumors 68000

    FJ218700

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Location:
    Blue Dot, Red State
    #4
    no. migration assistant only recognizes boot drives.

    just "drag and drop"
     
  4. zblaxberg thread starter Guest

    zblaxberg

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    #5
    how can i save my apps like cs3 without having to reinstall them? the cd's are at home and I'm at college...
     
  5. FJ218700 macrumors 68000

    FJ218700

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Location:
    Blue Dot, Red State
    #6
    Is all this for the Leopard switch ?

    Are you worried about the upgrade corrupting your files ?

    Why not just archive and install ?
     
  6. zblaxberg thread starter Guest

    zblaxberg

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    #7
    I just want a fresh install but I want to be able to keep my applications and files, what would an archive install end up doing?

    Apparently it makes a folder with applications from your previous install, would that take up a lot of space and couldn't I just delete it if the applications will be reinstalled through leopard?
     
  7. cuestakid macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Location:
    San Fran
    #9
    can someone tell me how to use the migration assistant. I have backed up my entire HD to an external Firewire drive but when i reboot my mac pro holding down T, the firewire icon shows up but it just bounces around. How do i use it-i searched and none of the methods work-it just keeps bouncing

    any help is appreicated

    and yes this is for leopard-
     

Share This Page