Migration assistant (Mac - Mac). New mac has mutiple drives, can't pick the right one

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Daftones, Aug 28, 2013.

  1. Daftones macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    #1
    I just picked up this bad boy today for $1300 (let me know if it's a deal):

    2012 13" Macbook Pro
    Still Current Model - Includes Original Packaging
    Intel i7 2.9GHz (Paid 1499.00)
    16GB 1600MHz RAM (Paid 199.00)
    750GB Stock 5400 RPM Hard Drive
    Additional 128GB SSD 550 MBs Read 510MBs Write (Paid 229.00)
    Aluminum Adapter Bracket for SSD (Paid 69.95)
    To add SSD I removed DVDRW (Included)
    Hengedock Vertical Docking Station (Awesome!) (Paid 69.00+22.00 Shipping)
    2nd MagSafe Power Adapter (Don't Remember What I Paid)
    Cold Boot to Login in 8 Seconds.


    My current macbook pro is a mid 2009:

    10.6.8
    2.26 intel core 2 duo
    4 gb ram



    So, I am using the migration assistant for the first time. I have gotten everything connect, but here is the issue:

    the main OS on the new MBP is on the 128 gb SSD, and I wish to put all my files on the HDD

    The SSD is listed as the startup disk, and the HDD is listed under "Devices". When I go to system preferences, and go to startup disk, all I see is the SSD.

    When hold "option" and start up the computer, I am able to start using the SSD, or recovery mode.



    I need to know how I can use migration assistant to only move files to the HDD, not the SSD.

    Or, let me know if I need to manually move the files over using an external HDD, or something like that.



    Thank you. I am pretty good with computers, but this has me stumped.
     
  2. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #2
    Why not drop the files you need into your public folder and then move them over from there?
     
  3. Daftones thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    #3

    its about 200 gb, but I imagine it could work out fine. Let me check and see.
     
  4. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #4
    Just do it half and half if you are short on space...:)
     
  5. priitv8 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Location:
    Estonia
    #5
    At the end of the day, you would want your (and any other user's) home folder (/Users/xxxxx) be migrated to HDD, right?
    A word of advice: I would left one (admin's) user account on SSD (boot volume), simply to be able to boot the OS X solely from SSD for any servicing/troubleshooting activities.
    I did it that way on my SSD-HDD-combo MBP:
    1) created another /Users folder on HDD and copied all home directories there
    2) in User accounts' advanced preferences pointed user's home folder location to new place (now obviously somewhere under /Volumes/hddvolname/Users/xxxxxx)
    3) created symlinks to the same folders under root /Users (just for sake of compatibility)

    PS you can move your user homes to new location on HDD simply using Finder.
     

Share This Page