Migration problem - ethernet not given as an option

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by annk, Jun 29, 2012.

  1. annk Administrator

    annk

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    #1
    We're trying to migrate from a MB running 10.5.8 to a brand new MBP. I've understood that wifi is hopelessly slow, so we'd like to do it by connecting the computers directly to each other via an ethernet cable.

    Problem is that ethernet is not listed as an option. The new MBP tells us that in order to migrate from the MB, both computers must be online. No other options are listed.

    This migration is happening as part of the setup process for the MBP. Should we go ahead and set up the new machine without migration, then migrate afterwards?

    Any ideas? :confused:
     
  2. Comeagain? macrumors 68020

    Comeagain?

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    #2
    I believe if you have wifi off, and have both computers connected to the network, it will use Ethernet. That should be enough.
     
  3. annk thread starter Administrator

    annk

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    #3
    That may well work. We were hoping to be able to connect them directly via an ethernet cable, since we know that's supposed to be an option, but we can try to connect them with ethernet cables via the router with wifi turned off. Thanks!
     
  4. Comeagain? macrumors 68020

    Comeagain?

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    #4
    Let us know if that works.
     
  5. annk thread starter Administrator

    annk

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    #5
    Unfortunately, the router is in a room at the place we're staying where an ill individual has his bedroom (or adjacent to it, anyway). There was no good time to get in there to do what we needed to do, so we ended up using an external HD I have with me to let him (my son) create a Time Machine backup of the Macbook. We'll use that in migration assistant later today.

    I'm still puzzled as to why using an Ethernet cable directly between the two machines wasn't possible. I found lots of instructions for migration assistent online that mentioned it as a possibility. :confused:
     
  6. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #6
    If I'm following this conversation correctly, you wanted to connect two computers directly together via Ethernet right? In that case, you cannot use a regular Ethernet cable, but must use a cross-over Ethernet cable.

    But then, I don't know if MA is setup to use Ethernet [cross-over] or not.
     
  7. annk thread starter Administrator

    annk

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    #7
    At least one of the set of instructions I found stated that a cross-over cable wasn't necessary, but if you're right, that could be the reason it didn't work. And I suppose it might also be the reason Ethernet wasn't given as an option during the process.

    We had updated the software on both laptops first, and I also downloaded the Leopard to Lion migration update.
     
  8. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #8
    Yep, any time you connect two computers directly together, a cross-over is required. The only other way is to use a router, switch or hub between them with regular straight-through cables.

    I've never tried the MA via Ethernet and always used FireWire or USB.
     
  9. velocityg4 macrumors 68040

    velocityg4

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Location:
    Georgia
    #9
    Pretty much any computer made in the last ten years can automatically make the needed adjustments making the crossover cable unnecessary. I think every Mac has been able to since at least the G4.
     
  10. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #10
    This is the first I've heard of that. Can you provide a link with documentation on that?
     
  11. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #11
    I did this two days ago. Set up internet sharing on one of the computers, sharing the wifi connection via ethernet. This will create a subnet through which the two computers can communicate the migration.

    Be sure to turn the sharing off when you're done.
     
  12. annk thread starter Administrator

    annk

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    #12
    I saw that possibility in one of the instructions I found. How long did it take, and how many gigs did you transfer?

    As I mentioned, we ended up going with a TM backup, but for another time I'm curious if this was a fairly fast (= that is, not 30 hours) solution.
     
  13. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #13
    It is true I use a standard patch cable no x-over always auto negotiates.

    Op- connect both macs before powering up and skip the wifi selection it should offer the Ethernet connection. If it doesn't then wifi off.

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4413
     
  14. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #14
    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT2274
     
  15. annk thread starter Administrator

    annk

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    #15
    We tried that, just as you describe. Only option we were given was wifi transfer. :(
     
  16. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #16
  17. annk thread starter Administrator

    annk

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    #17
    Update: Finally migrated successfully via a Time Machine backup. Took a while for the MBP to recognise that there was a TM backup on the Western Digital My Passport, but when it finally did, the whole process only took 20 minutes.
     
  18. velocityg4 macrumors 68040

    velocityg4

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Location:
    Georgia
    #18
    It is Autosensing MDI/MDI-x. It started with Gigabit Ethernet but found it's way into newer 10/100 devices. I read about it in a computer magazine a long time ago. The only online source I can find that is considered legitamite would be a very brief overview by PC World.

    http://www.pcmag.com/encyclopedia_term/0,1237,t=MDI+port&i=46692,00.asp

    Apple products that do not require a crossover cable. Which are products with gigabit Ethernet. Which is pretty early on with the gigabit Ethernet PowerMac G4.

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT2274

    Although Wikipedia is not always a reliable source. The article on MDI/MDI-X does have some good but brief references. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Auto-MDIX#Auto-MDIX
     

Share This Page