Migration via Ethernet cable - possible?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jbrown, Feb 9, 2017.

  1. jbrown macrumors 6502a

    jbrown

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #1
    From old 2009 13" MacBook Pro o a brand new 13" MacBook Pro ( non-touchbar ).

    I don't have the relevant Thunderbolt to Thunderbolt 3 cables / adapters and don't really wish to buy them for a one-time job.

    So can I Link the 2 computers via ethernet cables, and do a migration that way?

    If so how please!

    Many thanks
     
  2. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #2
    Not without the adapters no.
     
  3. jbrown thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jbrown

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Location:
    London
  4. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Yes... you can with that adaptor. During system setup it will ask if you want to import data. Just connect the cables and follow the prompts.
     
  5. jbrown thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jbrown

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Location:
    London

Share This Page