Migration

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Phippy, Mar 11, 2011.

1. Phippy macrumors newbie

I'm a newbie to the forum and a relative newbie to the Mac world, I could use some advice.

My question, I need to transfer user data, and any applications that I can, from an older Mac Pro to a new Mac Pro. The old one is running 10.4.1 and the new one is 10.6. The Migration Assistant looked like it would do exactly that, so I fired it up on both machines using an ethernet cable straight machine to machine, with no hub.

Both Macs got a self-assigned IP address on the same network, and Assistant appeared to be transferring fine, there's about 25 gig of data and the counter showed 57 minutes. Things went fine until the timer showed "less than a minute".

Three times in a row it has failed at this point saying that there may be something wrong with my network, the other computer isn't responding. All I can do is reboot.

Any idea why that might have happened? Is there a log I can look at to see the exact error?

Thanks for a great forum and for your time.

2. Makosuke macrumors 603

I've occasionally seen a failed import like that, although in my case re-trying usually corrected it. If you did actually mean 10.4.1, rather than 10.4.11, you should probably update the old Mac to the latest version of the OS possible, which might help.

Alternately, if you can get the two Macs to within a few feet of each other physically, you can use a Firewire cable and boot the old one in Target Disk Mode, then use Migration Assistant to transfer data directly. That will almost always work, as it doesn't rely on the old computer sending anything, it just grabs data directly off the hard drive.

3. satcomer macrumors 603

satcomer

Don't Import Network settings. This will bring over the older network drivers. Just re-enter your Network settings manually (System Preferences->Network pane) and rock & roll.

4. Phippy thread starter macrumors newbie