migration

Discussion in 'iMac' started by AL2TEACH, May 8, 2008.

  1. AL2TEACH macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, CO.
    #1
    I should be getting an iMac delivered friday. there are some programs and files I need to transfer from the cube like keychain and etc... Can using migration do this? thanks
     
  2. carfac macrumors 65816

    carfac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    #2
    I just got a second iMac, and transfered stuff from my old 20" to the new 24". I do not think the model matters, just what OS version you are running. Anyway, I was in Leopard... when you run MA, you get options to copy Apps, User settings and some other options, so you have SOME choices about what to move. Apps should be no problem, and my keychains moved over.

    I would do it, and check it out for a couple days to make sure you got all you need. You can use a USB key if you missed anything (I was not missing a thing!)
     
  3. AL2TEACH thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, CO.
    #3
    thanks, by tripping over it at the apple site, I read about migration but it's always better to hear from someone that used it. I just got it and I can hear it saying, take me out the box. lol :D
     
  4. mckandy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #4
    I used setup assistant to transfer my Time Machine backups from my MacBook to my new iMac. Now I keep getting asked to enter my Keychain password for various things and I don't know what it is! I entered the password I typically use and it did not work... is there a way to reset it?
     
  5. AL2TEACH thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, CO.
    #5
    whew, the first time I tried to migrate, I hit a snafu somewhere. tried again a couple of days later and it worked perfect. will have to check now. have to say that this machine gets as hot as it looks, lol.
    thanks carfac.
     

Share This Page