Minecraft on 2011 macbook pro.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Bloodworkk, Sep 5, 2011.

  1. Bloodworkk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    #1
    Hi guys,

    this has been stressing me out and i didn't know where else to get help.

    I recently bought a 2011 Macbook Pro;

    15-inch: 2.2 GHz
    2.2GHz quad-core
    Intel Core i7
    4GB 1333MHz
    750GB 5400-rpm1
    Intel HD Graphics 3000
    AMD Radeon HD 6750M with 1GB GDDR5

    I use this for work where i use photoshop illustrator etc... Works fine, couldnt be happier.
    BUT, minecraft on single player with distance on "tiny" and all applications closed, it just cant handle, it so jumpy that its actually impossible to play. I would have thought a laptop that costs this much and has this high specs would be able to handle minecraft.

    My old laptop was the white macbook from late 2008, this is a link to the specs;

    http://www.everymac.com/systems/app...duo-2.1-white-13-early-2008-penryn-specs.html

    ... except i had the 2gb ram. This laptop runs minecraft without a problem on tiny distance...except the sound never worked for some reason.
    WHY? i would have thought the brand new much more powerful laptop would run minecraft better? and how can i get it to run as smooth as possible?

    I hope someone can help me.
     
  2. Durious macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    #2
    This is not an overly helpful response but i have the same machine except i have an SSD and it works fine
     
  3. Trentolol macrumors member

    Trentolol

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Location:
    Right here
    #3
    Try turning the graphics down to fastest.

    Otherwise, have other games had issues with the graphics card?
     
  4. maril1111 macrumors 68000

    maril1111

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Location:
    Denmark
    #4
    Do you have the latest version of Minecraft?

    Try to reinstall it. It should be blazing fast.
     
  5. kyle1320, Sep 5, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2011

    kyle1320 macrumors regular

    kyle1320

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    In my own little world
    #5
    Yeah, I have a 13" and even when it had 4GB of RAM I could run Minecraft on the highest settings with 20+ FPS. Reinstall Minecraft, make sure no background processes are running. You may want to install a tool to check on your RAM usage, I use iStat Pro in Dashboard because I can open it up anytime with the F4 hotkey. You should be running it amazingly.
     
  6. Tanax macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    #6
    Perhaps Minecraft haven't been updated for Lion yet or something like that? What OS do you have? Lion or SL?
     
  7. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #7
    Minecraft is poorly coded to begin with, and perhaps you don't have the latest version?
     
  8. Inopia-Vi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Location:
    Lost in space
    #8
    Welcome to integrated graphics!

    Since it use your HDD mainly to page-in and out, adding ram or a ssd will solve the problem. As a bonus, you will gain overall speed everywhere...:apple:
     
  9. Warbrain macrumors 603

    Warbrain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #9
    I don't know how anyone can enjoy a game written in Java.
     
  10. kyle1320 macrumors regular

    kyle1320

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    In my own little world
    #10
    He has a 15" though, meaning both integrated and dedicated graphics.
     
  11. mike.coulter macrumors regular

    mike.coulter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Location:
    Cardiff
    #11
    Are you sure that it is running on the dedicated graphics chip and not the Intel 3000? That could be your problem.
     
  12. bizzle macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #12
    Works great on all high settings on a 2011 13" i5 MacBook Air.
     
  13. Kentochan macrumors 6502

    Kentochan

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    #13
    On my base 2011 13" MBP, I can play Minecraft on max. settings with minimal lag. And this is with the Intel HD 3000. I would try uninstalling MC, restarting the MBP, and then re-installing it.
     
  14. Inopia-Vi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Location:
    Lost in space
    #14
    Of course it will run great on the MBA, the SSD is there for that. Unless you install http://codykrieger.com/gfxCardStatus some game will rely on the integrated graphics. Forcing the MBP in discrete mode with this program will also solve the problem.
     
  15. njean777 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    #15
    I played it with integrated graphics, and it ran just fine 30+fps. I use a MBP 13in i5, 4gb ram, Intel 3000. Try using gfxCardStatus to switch to the dedicated card while running minecraft.
     
  16. Bloodworkk thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    #16
    hi guys, i installed the gfxcardstatus and i ran the newest version of minecraft on the intel hd graphics 3000 card and the AMD radeon and still the problem. to start with the game is ok, they it starts to drop a frame every 2 seconds then it just gets progressively worse up until its impossible to play.
    i have the newest operating software for mac, Lion... and i dont really want to upgrade my ram, well i could but i would only being upgrading it for this game seeing as my laptop runs fine elsewhere...

    I've reinstalled minecraft a few times and it doesn't make a difference. I am running minecraft with the yogbox installed but minecraft runs just as badly even without it installed
     
  17. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #17
    SSDs have no impact on gaming FPS. All the important data should be loaded into the ram anyway when you load the level, etc. I think it is more likely that, since it is a JAVA based game, the video card is still on integrated. You need to force it to use the dedicated graphics card.
     
  18. Jrv macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Location:
    Long Beach, California
    #18
    Runs fine on my 13 inch. That being said, I just lost a dozen diamonds in a mining accident involving those stupid skeletons, so I'm over it at this point...
     
  19. Bloodworkk thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    #19
    ... i reinstalled minecraft again just to be sure... and it works fine, but as soon as the yogbox is installed, i get all the problems...
     
  20. DeadPixel217 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    #20
    Make sure its using the dedicated graphics card when you're playing it. I've had this problem with other games that don't select it and purely use the integrated causing very jumpy gameplay. People have already mentioned gfxCardStatus. I recommend it to do this.
     
  21. Pentad macrumors 6502a

    Pentad

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Location:
    Indiana
    #21
    Bizzle,

    I love your Avatar!


    That made me LOL!!

    Cheers!
    -P
     
  22. Rolanddes macrumors member

    Rolanddes

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    #22
    I jus got my first mac (same as yours) 3-4 days ago. And tonight I was gonna install Minecraft (which I'm addicted to by the way) on it. :/
     

Share This Page