Mini 1.66 - 2GB in 1 RAM socket? (2nd ram socket is faulty)

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by rmwebs, Jul 25, 2008.

  1. rmwebs macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #1
    Hi all,

    I bought a mini from ebay a month or two ago, and when it arrived I found that the top RAM module was faulty. The seller sent me a 1GB stick to use in the lower slot.

    I kept a 512 in the upper slot. Sometimes it would work, sometimes I would get the blinking light on boot.

    I want to stop this problem once and for all. Is it possible to place a 2GB RAM stick into a single ram socket on the Mini 1.66? I know the systems limit is 2GB but since one of my sockets is broken, I would like to put 2GB into the working slot.

    Thanks for your time.

    Rick
     
  2. Muncher macrumors 65816

    Muncher

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #2
    I think there's a good chance it would work. No guarantees, but 2GB sticks are $20, so you won't be down a lot if you try.
     
  3. losierp macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    #3
    I would probably work, the only the is that the GMA in that machine runs much better with a matched pair of SODIMMs than not. If you have Applecare, I would give that a try. If not, you'll probably have to replace the logic board to resolves the issues.
     
  4. saulinpa macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    #4
    I've done it in mine (just to prove that 2x2G doesn't work). As long as it is just the slot that is bad and not a memory controller issue with addressing over 1G. Verify by removing the 512 and putting the 1G in the top slot for a while.
     
  5. noodle654 macrumors 68020

    noodle654

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Location:
    Never Ender
    #5
    This reminds me of the famous Lower RAM slot failure on the PB G4...Does the computer have AppleCare on it? Can you return it to the seller?
     
  6. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #6
    The 1.66 is a CoreDuo - officially the memory controller of this machine does not recognize 2 GB modules, as opposed to Core2Duos with can. IIRC someone posted that they tried with a MacBook CoreDuo and it would only run with a 533 MHz 2 GB module. Saulipa, can you confirm whether your Mini is a CoreDuo or a Core2Duo?

    2 GB modules are normally priced closer to US$40 - $50, not $20
     
  7. rmwebs thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #7
    Unfortunately I checked and its not got AppleCare regged :(

    Its a nice little computer, I use it for my local (web) development server as well as an iTunes and VLC server to stream music and movies to my iPhone/MacBook. I also recently got a MiniTT2 to watch Freeview on it :)

    I just would like to get it up to 2GB as it can be a bit laggy at times!
     
  8. saulinpa macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    #8
    I actually have one of each; that's how I could try it. I tested putting in two 667mhz 2G sticks from the C2D into the CD but it didn't work. One stick by itself worked.
     
  9. rmwebs thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #9
    thats given me an idea. My MacBooks got 2 2gb sticks....I could try one of them in the mini :)

    Will have a go tomorrow as I'm just off to work for the night!
     
  10. kmarketing macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
  11. rmwebs, Aug 27, 2008
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2013

    rmwebs thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #11
    I've honestly not tried. Been busy!

    The MacBooks going in for repair this afternoon so I may try it this weekend.

    Edit: 9th Jan 2013 Was board and looking through my old posts and noticed I never updated on this back in 2008.

    1x2GB ram socket works. Since this post the macmini was upgraded to a 2.2Ghz Core 2Duo processor and still works! I gave it to a family member who uses it exclusively to play the sims 2 on.
     
  12. RealaT macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    #12
    I did this exact thing with my Mac Mini 1.66CD

    Had a 2GB module in a single ram slot and it worked perfectly
     
  13. Muncher macrumors 65816

    Muncher

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #13
    I got a 2GB stick for $20 from frys. You really have to look. Even without looking for deals, nowadays you can easily find a 667 SODIMM 2GB stick for $25 - 30.
     

Share This Page