Mini + ACD 30" ??? Will it work?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by netdog, Nov 1, 2007.

  1. netdog macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #1
    If I hook up a Mini to a 30" ACD, will it use the whole screen? Other than reduced resolution, will the imaging be okay? I have switched a MP to 1920x1200 and it looks okay. Will a Mini yield the same results even though it isn's Dual Link?

    The web site says it only supports the 20" and 23".
     
  2. tersono macrumors 68000

    tersono

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    The mini will not drive that screen at all as it does not support Dual-Link DVI - the biggest it can handle is the 23" ACD
     
  3. Leon Kowalski macrumors 6502a

    Leon Kowalski

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Location:
    Gondwanaland Reunification Front HQ
    #3
    The ACD doesn't use dual-link mode for 1920x1200 signals. The DVI standard explicitly forbids using dual-link mode for data rates where single-link would suffice.

    The 30" ACD spec sheet says 1900x1200 is supported, but some folks have reported that they can't make it work. (I have no clue whether that's an ACD problem, a computer problem, or "pilot error.")

    LK
     
  4. netdog thread starter macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #4
    Well, the guy reputed to be the top genius at Regent Street today said it would work. I guess I will try it out tonight and post here for future searchers. Have 2 weeks to decide if this is sufficiently powerful to get by with until the whole Nehalem architecture settles out next year and, hopefully, we finally have a mid-sized dual link enabled tower. I am just reluctant to buy Mac Pro due to cost, power I don't really need (even though I render a fair amount of video and use Aperture a lot. Anyway, will let you guys know if it works and how it works out. Never used a Mini before, but my 20" Intel iMac 2.0 was pretty sweet, and this should actually be a lot faster than that in most ways.
     
  5. ctsport macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #5
    it works, just not at the screens optimum resolution (e.g. it looks like crap) but it works perfectly fine playing DVD's at full screen :D
     
  6. netdog thread starter macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #6
    It looks like crap or it is just lower resolution? Does the monitor sync or is it resolving 1920 up tp 2560?
     
  7. ADent macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    #7
    LCDs are fixed resolution, so there is no 'syncing' 1900 to 2590, unless you only use 24" worth of screen and leave the rest black.

    Some monitors run at non-native resolutions better than others - I don't have a 30" Apple so I can not give any hints there.
     

Share This Page