mini as a movie player?

tb9999

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 6, 2007
I am thinking of purchasing a Mac mini to use for the typical desktop stuff (email, web, etc). I'd like to also use it along with a 22" Samsung LCD for watching movies on DVD (not ripping from DVD - just watching).

I am new to the Mac world. I have been supporting Windows and Unix stuff for years and recently started supporting some iMac and MacBook users. I noticed in watching a DVD on a 24" iMac that the video image wasn't so great when in full screen mode.

Is the mini a good choice for this? I know that it has the integrated video adapter. I am not looking to do any HD or video editing or anything like that. Just watch a movie and get as good of a picture as I would on a standard definition TV.

Any advice? Thanks.

mustang_dvs

macrumors 6502a
Feb 9, 2003
Durham, NC
I am thinking of purchasing a Mac mini to use for the typical desktop stuff (email, web, etc). I'd like to also use it along with a 22" Samsung LCD for watching movies on DVD (not ripping from DVD - just watching).

I am new to the Mac world. I have been supporting Windows and Unix stuff for years and recently started supporting some iMac and MacBook users. I noticed in watching a DVD on a 24" iMac that the video image wasn't so great when in full screen mode.

Is the mini a good choice for this? I know that it has the integrated video adapter. I am not looking to do any HD or video editing or anything like that. Just watch a movie and get as good of a picture as I would on a standard definition TV.

Any advice? Thanks.
The reason that the DVD didn't look all that great on the iMac was that the screen has a native resolution that is 2-3 times that of the DVD, so the video scaling exaggerates the artifacts.