Mini Display Port Question

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by MacBookUK, Sep 23, 2010.

  1. MacBookUK macrumors newbie

    MacBookUK

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    I connected my MacBook 2010 model via Mini Display Port to DVI then DVI to HDMI cable into my Samsung monitor. Then enabled mirror mode where no resoultion fits the screen and is blurry. Is my method of connectivity causing this?
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    Is that monitor a computer display or a TV? Do you know the exact model? It is often stated on the back. Does the monitor not have a DVI input and if so, why don't you use it?
     
  3. tullys macrumors member

    tullys

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Location:
    Lowlands of Hampshire
    #3
    If this helps....

    I'm using an older MBP with a SAMSUNG SyncMaster T200HD (TV/Monitor).
    If I used the DVI->HDMI it is quite blurry.
    If use DVI-DVI and it's fine.
     
  4. MacBookUK thread starter macrumors newbie

    MacBookUK

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Would using Mini Display Port to VGA be a safer option?
     
  5. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #5
    Again, is it a TV or a dedicated computer monitor? Does that monitor not have DVI input?
     
  6. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #6
    I think it may be because you have the mirroring on. That limits the max resolution to 1280x800, which TVs don't like
     
  7. MacBookUK thread starter macrumors newbie

    MacBookUK

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    Yes it is a monitor that can be used as a tv and does have a DVI-D input.
     
  8. MacBookUK thread starter macrumors newbie

    MacBookUK

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    I want to use my MacBook in clamshell mode what is the max resolution?
     
  9. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #9
    Definitely use a DVI cable then. If you want to use it in clamshell mode, uncheck mirroring, and mouse over to the other display, which I believe is off of the right side of the screen by default. There you will find that display's resolutions, and simply select the highest one (likely 1920x1080)
     

Share This Page