Mini-displayport till DVI problems with 16:9

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by fishmoose, Jul 18, 2011.

  1. fishmoose macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #1
    Hi,

    I connected my MBP to my TV for the firs time today to watch True Blood, anyhow no matter if I use QuickTime or VLC I get black bars over and under the picture. If I tell VLC to output in 16:9 nothing changes, the TV can handle 1280×720 and everything worked fine with my old 13" MacBook using the same setup, only change being miniDVI till DVI instead of mini-display port.

    To my eye's it looks like it won't output 16:9, anyone knows what's going on?

    Here's a picture of the settings: http://cl.ly/2G462a2L450V371R1Q2Y

    I just don't get why my old 13" MacBook from 2007 could output movies and tv-shows fine without any black bars and my new 15" MacBook Pro can't?

    I have the 15" MBP high-end model with the high resolution anti-glare screen if it makes a difference.
     
  2. fishmoose thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #2
    Sorry for the bump, but I wanted to show a picture showing what I'm talking about:

    [​IMG]

    I've tried both SD and HD content and I get the same black bars.

    I'm desperate to fix this so any help is greatly appreciated.
     
  3. xxBURT0Nxx macrumors 68020

    xxBURT0Nxx

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
  4. fishmoose thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #4
    I did that earlier and I changed the resolution to match the video file and I still got the same bars! Am I doing it wrong?

    I'm thinking it's the adapter, do you guys/girls think an mini-display port till HDMI adapter than an HDMI to DVI cable would work better?
     
  5. xxBURT0Nxx, Jul 18, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2011

    xxBURT0Nxx macrumors 68020

    xxBURT0Nxx

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    #5
    you need to change the resolution to whatever the native resolution of your monitor or tv is, not the video source...

    sorry guess i should remind you to make sure you are not "mirroring" the displays either
     
  6. fishmoose thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #6
    Did that too, no joy.

    If I check in QuickTime (have Perian) what resolution the video is playing at it is playing in the right resolution just not full screen.

    What baffles me is that the exact same setup, with similar video files, worked fine on my old 13 White plastic MacBook. Only thing that's changed is the adapter and computer.

    I don't mirror the display either.
     
  7. xxBURT0Nxx macrumors 68020

    xxBURT0Nxx

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    #7
    is your tv resolution supposed to be 1366x768 by chance?

    Maybe you need to mess with the settings on your tv because if you changed the aspect ratio on there it could also be causing problems.
     
  8. fishmoose thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #8
    My TV is 1280×720, it is rather old which it why it has DVI instead of HDMI. I haven't touched any settings on the TV since it worked fine with my old MacBook.

    Going to bed now but in the morning I'll try to connect it to a newer TV which has both HDMI and DVI and see if that works.
     
  9. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #9
    If it is 1080i, I think it would support 1280x768 or 1366x768. Try both of those.
     
  10. fishmoose thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #10
    Tried everything that's been suggested, nothing works :(

    I ordered the Moshi Mini DisplayPort to HDMI Adapter just now, hopefully with a HDMI to DVI cable that will work better for me.

    Very disappointed with all this, these adapters isn't cheap so it feels bad having wasted money on the mini-display port to DVI one since it doesn't do what I want it to do.
     
  11. xxBURT0Nxx macrumors 68020

    xxBURT0Nxx

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    #11
    should have bought them from monoprice....

    $8 for an adapter isn't that expensive.
     
  12. fishmoose thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #12
    Yeah got the HDMI adapter today, still the same issue :(

    Not sure what to do, maybe my TV is just too old?
     

Share This Page