mini displayport to HDMI no sound?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by parkm13, Mar 28, 2011.

  1. parkm13 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    #1
    i have a 2011 macbook pro and when i plug it into my TV i dont get sound. is this normal with the mini displayport to HDMI cord? is there any way to get sound? thanks for your hlelp
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    What exact MDP to HDMI adapter do you use?

     
  3. TXBDan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #3
    It should work and it works for me. Make sure you have an adapter/cable that supports audio over HDMI. I guess some older one's don't.

    I have the black 10ft cable w/ minidisplayport on one end and HDMI on the other that Apple sells. Its not Apple brand. I forgot what brand it is, but it has like a 3 hexagon or honey comb thing logo on the HDMI end.
     
  4. parkm13 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    #4
    its a cheap one i bought from ebay. shouldn't they all give me sound?
     
  5. pdjudd macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Plymouth, MN
    #5
    Not all of them do - especially earlier models.
     
  6. v66jack macrumors 6502a

    v66jack

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Location:
    London, UK
    #6
    Probably just found the reason why.

    I don't think that the old mini display port dongle supported sound. But I could be wrong.
     
  7. parkm13 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    #7
    hmmm ok thanks for your help. good thing i only wasted $10. i guess i will have to go buy a new one
     
  8. pdjudd macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Plymouth, MN
    #8
    The early Mini display port MBP’s did not support sound so a lot of the cable makers didn’t bother adding sound in.
     
  9. NikFinn macrumors 6502a

    NikFinn

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Location:
    MA
    #10
    Did you change the sound output setting after the hdmi cable was plugged in? System Prefs -> Sound -> Output. I know with VLC if the program is open when you change the output, you have to quit and relaunch for the change to take effect.
     
  10. csjo00 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Location:
    Arkansas
    #11
    I bought one MDP-HDMI cable that actually ran DVI video through the HDMI cable, so it didn't work. (Bought from DealExtreme)

    Then, I bought another one from Monoprice.com and it worked with audio.
     
  11. koruki macrumors 6502a

    koruki

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #12
    When did you get it, I got one a while ago that didnt support audio, the one I linked above supports audio, the user feedback even confirms it works on their 2010 MBPs
     
  12. captainb8 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    #13
    I've got the monoprice adapter (here) and it supports audio with my 2011 MBP. As another post mentions, I had to change my audio preferences to switch the output from the built-in speakers to HDMI.
     
  13. maxi11235 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    #14
    Sound "auto switching"

    Hey all, I got video and audio working through a mini display port to hdmi adapter and a stock standard HDMI 1.3 cable thanks to the great input on this forum. Thanks.

    Now I have a new problem: I've disconnected the cables and want to use my MBP as normal, but the audio volume is stuck at full. I do get audio from the built-in speakers, but the volume icon is grayed out. (For any Real English speakers out there, "greyed" is misspelled for the benefit of our American friends who think their "English" is the only one :D )

    I haven't tried a restart (which I'm sure would sort it out) but I'm just wondering if I missed something. Anyone else had this? :confused:
     
  14. blevins321 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    #15
    Do the quoted step backwards maybe? I just tried it and it switched itself for me. Might have to do it once to get it to toggle.
     
  15. maxi11235 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    #16
    Must've been some sort of lock-up

    Thanks blevins. Shortly after I posted my question I noticed that the keyboard backlight wasn't on and I couldn't adjust the brightness. If I tried to adjust using the keyboard it showed a "not available" sign (circle with diagonal line). I thought I would have to restart.

    Then I plugged my headphones in just to shut the inbuilt speakers up (which were very loud) during a chat, et voila, broblem solved. Keyboard light and volume work again!
     
  16. mmduluth macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    #17
    Your keyboard light will always do that when the room your in is too bright to need it.
     
  17. seong macrumors 65816

    seong

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    #18
    Remember that ALL THE HDMIs are just DVI adapters with the audio cable combined. With that being said, you can probably tell that if a cord is damaged, e.g. someone stepped on it or someone bent the cable by accident, then the one of the 'strings' in the cable cord must have been damaged, especially the audio one. IDK about the earlier models. Never bought them.
     
  18. VG32 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    #19
    still no sound

    Hi Captainb8,

    i also bought the same cable but still cannot get sound. My Sound preferences on my MBP 2011 are set to to my Sony TV. My VLC audio setting is set to my HDMI output. My tv is set up properly as well. Any further suggestions. Thanks!
     

Share This Page