Mini-dvi to Video output adapter

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by callmesir, Dec 16, 2008.

  1. callmesir macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    #1
    I've searched the forum and couldn't really find an answer for this, just something explaining it's an output only device, which is fine.

    My question is this, I just bought the mini-dvi to composite video output. I tried plugging my macbook into an input on the front of my dvd player that's attached to an older tv (just has a coaxial input), well the The TV didn't display anything, I"m wondering if I have to have a digital TV or if I need to have some kind of software that I need to run in order for the adapter to work. Any help would be appreciated... thank

    Rob
     
  2. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #2
    I've connected mine directly into TV's and it's worked fine. The settings for it are in Settings > Displays. I honestly don't see why it shouldn't work the way you have it setup.
     
  3. jonbravo77 macrumors 6502a

    jonbravo77

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #3
    I don't think I have ever seen a dvd player with a coaxial output before. And I certainly neer seen a dvd player with inputs unless it was a dvd recorder. So, having said that. I have no idea what you are trying to do.
     
  4. callmesir thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    #4
    it's old school stuff... not really anything weird... maybe I'm using the wrong terminology, I thought almost all dvd players had inputs so that you could run your cable TV through the DVD player first.... anyway, I still can't figure it out... I know it's on the right channel and whatnot because I can input something else and the screen display is fine.... oh well.

    one other question.... does anyone else's macbook display automatically change when they attach the mini dvi portion of the adapter?
     
  5. callmesir thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    #5
    I've noticed as I change the display settings they TV is obviously getting some kind of signal at 60hz is the most interference. I've read elsewhere that it might work best with the refresh rate at 50 HZ, I don't have a predetermined setting at 50 hz is there a way to change my display to that?
     
  6. matthewlesh macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    #6
    I'm trying to do a similar thing but i can't seem to find anywhere to set my output to 50 HZ.. any help out there?
     

Share This Page