Mini Hooked to Plasma: Should I turn GAME MODE on?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by legaleye3000, Jan 17, 2010.

  1. legaleye3000 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
  2. Alvi macrumors 65816

    Alvi

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Location:
    Mars
    #2
    Yes, Game mode usually offers better colors and is a more active scenario, and using a Mac is one of those :p
     
  3. legaleye3000 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #3
    There's some weird stuff going on... When I move a window(lets say the browser) to the left of the screen, the color of the white changes.. I don't know if that makes sense...
     
  4. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #4
    If your plasma has some sort of pixel shifting mechanism, you should turn that on as well to prevent burn in.

    Do you watch a lot of 4:3 with black bars on the side?
     
  5. scroto macrumors regular

    scroto

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Location:
    Trenton, MI
    #5
    let me guees, you have a panasonic plasma right. It really doesn't matter just be aware of the possibility of burnin with static scenes.
     
  6. legaleye3000 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #6
    I have game mode on and pixel shift on. I have a Samsung about a year old
     
  7. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #7
    No. You should set the Mac Mini to drive the plasma at its native resolution and then turn off all "enhancements" on the plasma such as sharpening, smoothing, vibrance, etc. Then you need to calibrate the display using System Preferences -> Displays -> Color -> Calibrate...

    Then when you're done with that, make sure everything is good using a test pattern such as the one that DisplayConfigX has.
     
  8. legaleye3000 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #8
    Ok I turned off game mode, etc... I'm doing the display calibrate (color) and should I use for gamma 1.8, 2.2, or native (which comes up to 1.12)?
     

Share This Page