Minidisplay to HDMI no sound please help.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by bigdaddyc188, Jun 15, 2010.

1. bigdaddyc188 macrumors member

Total newbie here bought a new 17" i7 macbook and I bought an minidisplay to HDMI adapter and when I connect I can see a picture but no sound, i tried going into the system preferences and seeing if there was an hdmi output but I cannot see anything.

Any suggestions help would be great!

2. belvdr macrumors 603

3. TheNewDude macrumors 6502a

It can if you have a 2010 MBP and the right wire.

Which laptop do u have and where did u get the wire from?

4. runebinder macrumors 6502a

runebinder

It's in his post, an i7 17" so definitely able to output audio though MDP.

To the OP, when you say you have checked System Preferences, I take it you mean Sound and then Output? Does it just show Internal Speakers as an option?

What MDP to HDMI adapter do you have? It's only been in the last couple of months that audio compliant adapters have been available, possibly have an older one which does video only?

5. skate71290 macrumors 6502a

I don't think it does, i thought when Apple built the new Apple Cinema Display, the USB connection was to transfer sound and data to and from the Apple Cinema Display Speakers and USB Ports?

6. runebinder macrumors 6502a

runebinder

I've got a 15" i7 currently hooked to an AV Receiver via HDMI and nothing else, I can assure you it does output video and audio. That or I'm going insane and imagining listening to Nirvana lol.

The 2010 models have VESA 1.2 MDP ports which carry audio, Apple confirmed this soon after release:

http://arstechnica.com/apple/news/2010/04/new-macbook-pros-support-audio-over-mini-displayport.ars

7. prism macrumors 6502a