Minimum required CPU speed for VMware Fusion with Win-XP

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by MrFusion, Oct 22, 2010.

  1. MrFusion macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Location:
    West-Europe
    #1
    I need to run VMware Fusion with Win-XP for work purposes, with mail, safari, etc running as well. XCode and Adobe illustrator are probably the most resource demanding Mac Apps I run simultaneously with VMWare. VMWare is on all the time.

    My macbook (2GHz, 2GB memory) is rather sluggish in these tasks, while my iMac (2.8 GHz, 4 GB memory) is much faster and more responsive. But I am not sure if this is due to the extra memory or the additional CPU speed.

    Since a long time I want to replace this macbook which is just falling apart and the new MacBook Air's might push me over the edge. The old 12" powerbook is back it seems. :D

    However the CPU is much slower than what I have on the macbook. Will 4 GB of memory and a SSD disk make up for what I lose in CPU speed? What is the minimum CPU required to run what I described above?
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    There isn't really a minimum speed, the RAM is what is really important.
     
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
    http://communities.vmware.com/docs/...jy9fUL&usg=AFQjCNGAJwzXCqPl5-cB0xknjXGXkJwtFQ

    The RAM is the issue here, running two OSs at the same time eats a lot RAM and when you run out of RAM, the system will start paging out which causes lag (data is transferred from RAM to HD because RAM is full; HD is around zillion times slower than RAM).

    What MacBook do you have? It's possible that it can take up to 6GB of RAM
     
  4. MrFusion thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Location:
    West-Europe
    #4
     
  5. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #5
    My very-first-generation 2.0 GHz Core Duo MacBook with 2 GB RAM runs XP in Parallels just fine.

    The hard drive will have the biggest impact. Swap in an SSD, and you'll feel like you have a new machine. (Although my XP VM ran acceptably with the stock hard drive.)
     

Share This Page