Minimum sound volume not low enough

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Blaat Mekker, May 27, 2010.

  1. Blaat Mekker macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    #1
    With my new headphones (Sennheiser HD280-PRO) even the lowest volume is too high (even when using the extra levels using the option-key). It's just below the level where it'll be uncomfortable, but lower would still be preferred.

    Does anyone know how I can get OS X to use a different scale? I have a MBP 4,1 with OS X 10.6.3.
     
  2. IDANNY macrumors 6502a

    IDANNY

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2003
    Location:
    Las vegas
    #2
  3. Blaat Mekker thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    #3
    It is the option-key, as I said in my own post. Holding shift prevents the sound to be played for verification. My problem is that the low volume isn't low enough.
     
  4. Serif macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    As mentioned in the article linked to, holding down both the shift and option keys at the same time whilst using the volume adjustment keys, makes volume changes approximately four times more sensitive. Give it a shot and see if that fixes things for you.
     
  5. forcefieldkid macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    #5
    Still not getting it. He's saying that the lowest volume level above mute isn't low enough for him, regardless what he presses to get to it.

    To the OP, is it for videos/music or is it just sound effects that are bugging you? Both?
     
  6. ergdegdeg Moderator emeritus

    ergdegdeg

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    #6
    You can adjust the volume for apps like iTunes and VLC too. This is independent from the general volume and you'll probably be able to go lower.
     
  7. yensteel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    #7
  8. Blaat Mekker thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    #8
    Well, everything is just too loud; the master volume is the problem.

    Program dependent volume control isn't something that is ideal, but I'm afraid I'm going to be stuck with it.

    The volume on my other headphones have as well been high, but low enough to be bearable. Not sure what is going on. Guess I'm stuck with getting a separate hardware volume controller.
     

Share This Page