Mirror display not using the whole screen.

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by jgbhardy, Jul 27, 2009.

  1. jgbhardy macrumors 6502

    jgbhardy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #1
    I have an Early 2008 Macbook connected to a 22" 1680x1050 display. When I set it to mirror the display and set it to the full resolution of 1680x1050 it only uses about 16" of the external display, when i set the resolution to 1280x800 on the external display it then uses all of the display.
    When I don't mirror the displays it uses all of the display in full resolution.
    Is there anyway to solve this so that i can use it to mirror the display but use all of the screen!
     
  2. geoffreak macrumors 68020

    geoffreak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
  3. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #3
    Your MacBook screen's resolution is 1280x800. A mirror of 1280x800 is 1280x800. A good analogy would be looking at yourself in the mirror. You don't look taller, shorter, fatter, skinner. Same thing here.
     
  4. geoffreak macrumors 68020

    geoffreak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #4
    Not quite. The Mac is actually outputting the signal to the larger monitor for the native resolution and drawing black except in the center. This will avoid distortion caused when an LCD comes off its native resolution. Disabling overscan should tell the Mac to not bother with that and just output whatever resolution is used by the smaller display. Your LCD should compensate for the lower resolution signal and stretch the picture.
     
  5. jgbhardy thread starter macrumors 6502

    jgbhardy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #5
    How do you disable overscan?
     
  6. geoffreak macrumors 68020

    geoffreak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #6
    My understanding is that it is an option in the display settings.
     
  7. jgbhardy thread starter macrumors 6502

    jgbhardy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #7
    No where to be seen in mine, but a quick google search shows that the overscan feature is missing is a recognised issue by Apple. Hopefully the next update 10.5.8 will fix this, I think I saw a news feed saying something to do with a display issue being fixed.
    http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=1827123&start=15&tstart=0
     

Share This Page