Mirroring not full screen?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by nvcplus, Mar 2, 2011.

  1. nvcplus macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    #1
    In the video on Apple's site, they show the example of mirroring your screen to an HDTV through the new HDMI dongle.

    The only problem is, it is not in full screen at all. It seems to be only taking up half the screen at best.

    I realize there is a difference in screen resolutions that may be causing this, but do you think there will be an option on the device to output at fullscreen? As in, not having to switch a display option on my tv?
     
  2. gloss macrumors 601

    gloss

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Location:
    around/about
    #2
    Possibly. If it's mirroring, it's displaying a pixel-for-pixel recreation of the screen.
     
  3. whyhellojoe macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    #3
    if that's the case, wouldnt displaying it via a massive lecture theatre projector be pointless?
     
  4. Piggie macrumors 604

    Piggie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    #4
    Yuk, no that can't be right.

    Apple know the world is changing over the 16:9 for TV's now.
    I've not seen a 4:3 TV for sale for years in the UK.

    Any video out from an iPad would have to be full widescreen, otherwise it would be laughable.

    Or course, if you were playing back a movie wider than 16:9 you would have black bars top and bottom, but either way it must use the whole display of your TV screen.
     
  5. jclardy macrumors 68040

    jclardy

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    #5
    No, unless that projector had a huge resolution. Most are the same as normal desktop monitor resolutions as people look at them from more than 10 feet away.

    The video output is 1080P. Output from a video file in the Videos app will be 1080p if the video is 1080p. Screen mirroring is a physical mirror of your screen so it is in 4:3. Apps that support video out will be set to the 1080p resolution if they support it, if they don't it will be 4:3 as it is just a mirrored output.

    Why would you want the screen to be stretched? For games and such that would work but for general apps it would look much worse than just having black bars.
     

Share This Page