Mirroring system HD onto larger internal... PLEASE READ!!!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by slomo86, Jul 30, 2008.

  1. slomo86 macrumors member

    slomo86

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Location:
    Turkey
    #1
    I just got a G4 450 mhz running OS 10.4.11 with 1.5 gigs of ram and a 20 gig system hard drive. Well I upgraded to 2 100 gig harddrives. So I have 220 gigs. Here is my problem...

    I want to install Final Cut Pro 5 but it requires 22 gigs of space on the system hard drive alone. I am sure you see where I am going with this... Yes I want to turn one of the 100 gigs into the system hard drive BUT i don't have a OS X disc. Is it possible for me to mirror my current system hard drive onto the one of the 100 gig's??? If so how:confused:??? Thanks in advance!!
     
  2. huskydsl macrumors member

    huskydsl

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #2
    try using carbon copy cloner... works great at cloning disks
     
  3. slomo86 thread starter macrumors member

    slomo86

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Location:
    Turkey
    #3

    where could I get it and how much?? and can i boot from the clone on the bigger hard drive??
     
  4. huskydsl macrumors member

    huskydsl

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #4
    you can get it from version tracker, it's cheap and yes, it will clone a bootable disk to a new drive which will then be a bootable disk too :) POOF!
     
  5. slomo86 thread starter macrumors member

    slomo86

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Location:
    Turkey
    #5
    sweetness thanks i will check it out! :D
     
  6. slomo86 thread starter macrumors member

    slomo86

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Location:
    Turkey
    #6
    one more thing how do I boot off the new hard drive?????
     
  7. huskydsl macrumors member

    huskydsl

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #7
    just make sure it's the master drive...for the device you are booting
     
  8. huskydsl macrumors member

    huskydsl

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #8
    OR, you can hold down option key while powering up and it will allow you to select the bootable disk or bootable partition.
     
  9. slomo86 thread starter macrumors member

    slomo86

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Location:
    Turkey
    #9
    ok I am new to OS X. lol sad but true. Back in high school I was really good with a mac (this was back when the G4 was the holly grail and OS X just came out) But I ran across this G4 and couldn't pass the deal up. So I need to learn it more... thanks for the help!!!!
     
  10. millar876 macrumors 6502a

    millar876

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Location:
    Peterhead, Scotland UK
    #10
    +1 far Carbon copy cloner. and to boot to it just go to System Pref's, startup disk, and selevt the big one, or hold "alt" on startup
     
  11. slomo86 thread starter macrumors member

    slomo86

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Location:
    Turkey
    #11
    Hey thanks guys for the info!!! I cloned the hard drive and I am running off the bigger one as i type this!!! THANK YOU SO MUCH!!! now to instal final cut pro!!! woot!!!!!!!! :D
     

Share This Page