Miserable with my Windows machine...

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Falcor, Apr 7, 2007.

1. Falcor macrumors newbie

I've had so many problems with my PC over the last year, I'm about ready to chunk it out the window. Aside from the normal computer problems everyone has, I have extremely bad luck with malware constantly installing itself on my system.. despite having every firewall and anti-malware software known to man installed. I format my harddrive, somewhere around 4-5 times a year because of crap like that, and its never long before my computer starts picking it all up again.

Being that I'm a graphic artist, I've lost a lot of drawings and concept sketches due to constant problems.. if its not the malware thing, then its something else.. programs will just close suddenly without warning, or blue screen of death will take me out before I can save my work. Most of my work is done on a Wacom tablet, so I need a computer to do most of it. But its been more of a hinderance than it has a help.

Now that my rant is out of the way (I'm very sorry for that, but I'm extremely frusterated right now) I'd really like to know if the Mac systems really do the things they advertise. Is it true spyware and stuff like that cant be contracted on these machines? If so, I'm already sold. I've always seen their ads, saying their systems are well suited to people in the creative industry, but I've always shrugged it off being that all my software is for PC.. and I'd have to buy these expensive photoshop suites AGAIN. But... I'm now at my breaking point. I need to figure something out here so I can start getting my work done.

Any help/suggestions greatly appreciated.

2. EricNau Moderator emeritus

EricNau

It's true. No malware here (and no annoying anti-virus software). We just don't need it. :)

And you'd be buying the Creative Suite at just the right time because a new version was just released.

3. TheAnswer macrumors 68030

TheAnswer