Missing GB on HDD (not due to binary count or OSX space)

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Jak3, Oct 26, 2008.

  1. Jak3 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #1
    K, my new MB came with a 160GB HDD, 150 after binary conversion and whatever else is taken up by OSX. Now, I know that doesn't take up 60GB...so why does my MB only see 100GB left?

    I already did repair disk utility, worked for my aunt when hers didn't display all of her HD, but it didn't work for me.

    So now I see these two options:

    reformat/reinstall OSX and see if it doesn't pop up.

    Call Apple and see if they can help me.

    Any other options you guys know of?

    Also, is there any way of viewing what programs are taking up how much space (I only installed VLC player, handbrake and ripped The Two Towers to my hard drive, that doesn't take up 35+ GB of space) on my HDD. I know how to do it in Windows, but I haven't found it yet if it exists in OSX.

    Thanks you in Advance:)
     
  2. gibbz macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    #2
  3. Jak3 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #3
    Okay, that program helped...turns out there was a bad rip copy (MB went into sleep mode whn I was ripping TTT the first time I tried) sucker was hogging 27GB for some odd reason...

    anyway, deleted it. Now I have 127.9GB free space (out of 149GB total free space to use) which means system files and stuff is taking up about 20GB...does that seem right?

    Thanks again for your help:D
     
  4. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #4
    Yeah, beaten to it, but I was going to suggest a botched rip also.

    As for the 20GB, if you have Leopard and iLife on it, yes, that sounds about right. iLife is huge.
     
  5. ref26 macrumors 6502a

    ref26

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #5
    I have a program called Disk Inventory X that gives a really detailed breakdown of everything you have, you should check it out.

    Edit: Sorry, looks like that was what you were already linked to.
     
  6. Jak3 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #6
    Yes, I have iLife.

    okay, sounds like everything is a-okay now with my MB.

    glad I don't have to reinstall everything:D
     

Share This Page