Resolved Missing HD Space in iMac Fusion Drive

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Skadi, Dec 7, 2017 at 1:20 AM.

  1. Skadi, Dec 7, 2017 at 1:20 AM
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2017 at 2:23 AM

    Skadi macrumors newbie

    Skadi

    Joined:
    Thursday
    #1
    Hello,

    I am missing 250GB on my 1TB Fusion drive. I have completely formatted my drive in recovery but it still shows up as 750GB. This happened after something went wrong with my Bootcamp partition, I am not entirely sure what happened but it's gone. (And it used to be 250GB)

    I don't know what to do to get this space back. Please help me, thanks! :)

    --- Post Merged, Dec 7, 2017 at 2:07 AM ---
    I have followed the steps from Weaselboy's post, and I am still missing 250GB. I now have 1 drive called Fusion of 120GB and 1 drive called Untitled of 634,25GB

    UPDATE: I managed to make the Untitled drive into 999,86GB. Now I have 999,86GB on Untitled and 120GB on Fusion. How can I make these drives into 1 again? Preferably 1 of 1TB.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
  3. Skadi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Skadi

    Joined:
    Thursday
    #4
    Thanks for your reply! I did follow these steps, and this is how it turned out. :)
    --- Post Merged, Dec 7, 2017 at 5:52 AM ---
    Took a photo of the terminal output after distil cs list
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #5
    Hmm... you must have missed something. Do "diskutil cs delete Fusion" to kill that and try again. Make sure you have formatted the individual drives first.
     
  5. Skadi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Skadi

    Joined:
    Thursday
    #6
    When I give that command I get 'Fusion does not appear to be a valid Core Storage Logical Volume Group UUID or name'
     
  6. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #7
    Try again with the Logical Volume Group name up there that starts with BAC... paste in the whole string.
     
  7. Skadi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Skadi

    Joined:
    Thursday
    #8
    I think I got it to work! Does this look fine?
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
  9. Skadi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Skadi

    Joined:
    Thursday

Share This Page