Mission Control doesn't pick up minimized windows?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by NovemberWhiskey, Jul 20, 2011.

  1. NovemberWhiskey macrumors 68030

    NovemberWhiskey

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    #1
    One thing I loved about SL was that expose picked up minimized windows when you activated it.

    However, mission control doesn't seem to do that. Is there any way to get the minimized windows to show up?
     
  2. tootall macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #2
    Excellent question, I also have been looking around to find a solution to this problem ... it is a major inconvenience.

    When you keep clicking on the application, the minimized windows does not appear anymore either.
     
  3. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #3
    Annoys me too which is why I haven't upgraded to Lion yet (that's how much I used all windows Expose') Mission Control does not show minimized windows. In order to see the minimized windows, you'll have to have that specific app in the foreground/selected and then do App Expose' to see minimized window for that app only.
     
  4. skadd macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    #4
    Really? Sounds like Mission Control is the biggest mistake in Lion, and it's what keeping me from upgrading.
     
  5. Crosbie macrumors 6502a

    Crosbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    #5
    Yep, this is an odd omission. I've switched to minimising to dock - which allows you still to see the minimised apps (dock shows in MC). But I preferred the larger, below-the-line previews in expose and minimising to icon.
     
  6. roland.g macrumors 603

    roland.g

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Location:
    One mile up and soaring
    #6
    What do you mean minimizing to dock? Don't all app windows minimize to the app icon like they did in SL. I too love all app expose with large above and minimized below. But if I recall one issue I had is that it only did it for the current space. Which is one reason I didn't particularly like certain aspects of the implementation of spaces.
     
  7. bradhs macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    #7
    Anyone figure this out?? I need to see my minimized windows when I'm in Mission Control.

     
  8. iwan073 macrumors regular

    iwan073

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Location:
    Holland
    #8
    They won't show up in mission control, but they will show up in Program windows. Not sure if it's called like that in English.
    I'll show a screenshot with the option marked in red.

    [​IMG]

    When you use that option, the minimized windows wil show like in this screenshot.

    But only the minimized windows of the active program window.
     
  9. Maccleduff macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #9
    Yup, the option is called Application Windows. like you said, it only shows minimised windows of the current active app. Ive set it to a hot corner, works well enough for me for now. Still wish expose all windows was like in Snow Leopard, but I guess have to get used to using Mission Control too.
     
  10. iwan073 macrumors regular

    iwan073

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Location:
    Holland
    #10
    Cool.
    I open it by going 3 fingers down on my trackpad.
    Works easy too :)
     
  11. tootall macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #11
    iWan, you are basically just defining the shortcut for exposé (in french it is called the application window (fenêtre). Basically iloggenius it totally correct when he says:

    "In order to see the minimized windows, you'll have to have that specific app in the foreground/selected and then do App Expose' to see minimized window for that app only."

    Another thing that bugs me is to see minimized windows, you could just keep pressed the icon in the dock. Now you have to right click on the icon and select "show all windows"
     
  12. SimonJ macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Czech Republic
    #12
    Or you can double tap the dock icon of the app with two fingers to do the same.
     

Share This Page