Misson Control Questions

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by dukebound85, Jul 25, 2011.

  1. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #1
    Does anyone know when using mission control, how you can cycle between windows of a particular app? I ask as the main reason I had used expose was to find a specific window so curious if there was a way to do this

    Also, is spaces now limited to being a 1xN horizontal array? In other words, can you not have spaces be a 3x3 setup (3down and 3 across like you were able to?)

    Thanks
     
  2. Runt888 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    #2
    You can't cycle through a single app's windows in Mission Control. A few options:

    1. Assign a keystroke or hot corner to "Application Windows" in the Mission Control settings.
    2. When in Mission Control, a two finger gesture up will spread out the windows that the mouse is over - not quite the same, but in some cases it might be enough to decide what window you want.
    3. Command+~ will still rotate through all of the apps windows (not Mission Control, but useful anyway).

    Spaces technically don't exist anymore. Now you have "Desktops" and "Fullscreen Apps." Currently they are limited to a single row along the top of Mission Control, and as far as I know, no one has figured out a way to bring back the old Spaces UI.
     
  3. basher macrumors 6502

    basher

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Location:
    Glendale, AZ USA
    #3
    You can do this with App Exposè. By default it's the F10 function key. You can also enable the gesture if you're a Trackpad user.

    The setting for the trackpad is in System Preferences...More Gestures...App Exposè.

    Hope this helps.
     
  4. dukebound85 thread starter macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #4
    Thanks for the info:)

    While I do not mind seeing the spaces aligned like that, it would be nice to be able to navigate as if it were arranged in a grid (as control-arrow to get to the rightmost spaces is not ideal)

    Thanks, I will look into that as well
     
  5. Jisuo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #5
    Thanks, I was looking for that one!
     
  6. C64 macrumors 65816

    C64

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    #6
    You can also hover your cursor over a window and press the space key to open Quick View
     

Share This Page