Mix of 10GbE and 1GbE Network?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by Isoparm, Oct 30, 2015.

  1. Isoparm macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    #1
    I have two towers that I transfer large files between a lot. I'm thinking about adding 10GbE to both machines to speed up the transfer speed times.

    Right now my internet comes via router to 1GbE.

    If I set up two networks (The 10GbE and the 1GbE) will OS X be smart enough to know to transfer files via 10GbE network and still receive internet access via the 1GbE connection (and not try to transfer files via 1GbE), or do I need to set something up so that it does that?
     
  2. slayerizer, Oct 30, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2015

    slayerizer macrumors 6502a

    slayerizer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    Macpro? Do you use the internal nic + 10gbe?

    if you have two nics on each machine


    NIC 10Gbe #1) use a crossover cable from machine A to machine B, set a network like 192.168.1.x . The crossover is not mandatory, you could still hookup the cable to the switch. But the crossover is a direct link, so I like that!

    NIC 1GBe) use your 'usual network' like 192.168.0.x

    when you use the 192.168.1.x address it will use your 10gbe automatically.


    If you insist for both card to be on the same network segment, you would need to add a static route on each machine (via Terminal). The static route will tell the machine to use a different adapter for a specific IP range. If you use different networks like I mentioned above, the static routes will be created for you automatically.

    I have a similar setup (1gb) + (4x1GB) in LACP (link aggregation) ..
     
  3. AFEPPL macrumors 68030

    AFEPPL

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Location:
    England
    #3
    Yes, it's no issue.
    Your speed between anywhere will always be limited by the smallest or slowest pipe.

    However the internet has nothing to do with the connection between two internal nodes. Thats your connection speed to the external world.
    All parts of the internal network must support 10GBe or as above you'll be limited by the slowest part in the chain. It's just basic routing. You could have multiple routes or you can disable the existing NICs and just have the new NICs on a single network and a switch. All depends if you know how to setup the routing for the two separate networks.

    Remember if you go with two networks it's easier to have the default route pointing to the internet gateway..
     

Share This Page