Mixing 667 ram with 888 ram

Discussion in 'iMac' started by vega07, Jun 17, 2008.

  1. vega07 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #1
    Is this a good idea? I have a stick of 512 MB of DD2 667 RAM laying around and I'd like to put it in my brand new low-end iMac.
     
  2. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #2
    i think the 800 stick will just run at 667

    dont know for sure
     
  3. tersono macrumors 68000

    tersono

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    It is likely that you'll have problems - it's possible that the machine may not even boot.
     
  4. Muncher macrumors 65816

    Muncher

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Don't. Everything could run fine @667Mhz, or your machine will try to overclock the ram to 800Mhz (not good :p).
     
  5. kiwi031 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #5

    Not a good idea man, I can't tell you exactly what your machine will do (some don't boot, some boot but OS doesn't start, in some, the RAM will just fall back to 667,etc) but overall its not suggested. Plus, for the gain of only 512mb, I seriously don't think its a good bet.

    Get a 1GB module of DDR2-800 from an online dealer, these chips aren't that expensive and you'll get a lot more out of your iMac than with the 1Gb. I have the 2.0Ghz Alu iMac, and I keep track my RAM usage using Activity Monitor. The 1GB it came with leaves it severely under powered, and using HDD space instead, decreasing your overall perfomance. I put in another 1GB module I had lying around, so now I have 2GB, and the machine regulary uses about 1.2-1.5GB of that, so I'm perfectly sorted.
     

Share This Page