Mixing apple and third-party ram (2010 MP)

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by lucidmedia, Aug 20, 2010.

  1. lucidmedia macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    #1
    Has anyone tried this on a 2010 MP?

    I am interested in getting a 2x4gb package and leaving in 2 x 1gb of the base ram for a total of 10GB. Any way to leverage what I already have?
     
  2. fedeboraxx macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    #2
    im also interested in this. a guy from around here directed me towards crucial.com (which i haven't done, im still waiting for the MP to arrive) but would love to hear what general wisdom around here says. ive heard people say you have to throw out all your apple-RAM and get new sticks, but this sounds absurd
     
  3. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #3
    As long as you are using DDR3 1333MHz ECC UDIMMs you should have no problems mixing capacities. Mixing with memory from the likes of Crucial, OWC, transintl and Kingston that is branded suitable should be fine.
     
  4. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
  5. fedeboraxx macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    #5
    thanks guys. from what i understand, its still important to install in matched pairs, right?
     
  6. lucidmedia thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    #6
    I received confirmation from a OWC tech last night via email that 2x4gb and 2x2gb (Apple standard) RAM will work.
     

Share This Page