Mixing RAM in new 27inch 5k?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Vertigoo, Oct 16, 2015.

  1. Vertigoo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2015
    #1
    Hi,
    today I bought the new Imac 5K and I love it!

    It came with the 8 GB 1867-MHz DDR3 RAM.
    In an official Apple retail store (Belgium) I asked them to add another 16GB.

    They did add the 16GB, but they put in 1600-MHz DDR3 RAM instead of the 1867-Mhz RAM already installed.
    They said it wouldn't make any difference in speed and also that it would not give any conflicts. They also said that at the moment they couldn't get the 1867 Mhz.

    When I go to check 'about this Mac', it says that I have 24 GB of 1600 Mhz DDR3 RAM... (doesn't mention the 1867 Mhz RAM).

    The only issue I have is that when I start the computer, after about a third of the process bar in the log in screen, the machine blinks, the log in screen disappears to come back a second later and then the process bar continues and I can log in fine. I must say that I used a terminal command not to hear the start up sound.

    Will this difference in clocktime (MHz) make a difference in speed?
    Will I get issues with my computer due to this?

    I contacted Apple support and they said that it wouldn't make a difference.

    Can anyone please give some advice?
     
  2. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #2
    My late 2014 Retina iMac does this as well, nothing to be worried about.

    ------​
    All the RAM will run at 1600 MHz (including the 1867 MHz). You get a slight performance hit, but nothing hugely noticeable.
     
  3. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #3
    When different speed ram is used together then the faster ram falls back to the lower speed rams running speed. Overall the speed of the machine will probably be a percent or two slower on benchmarks, real world day to day running no difference at all most likely unless you are doing a high memory load processing all the time. The machine blink you see on startup will be the graphics being initialized nothing to worry about.
     
  4. xgman macrumors 601

    xgman

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    #4
    generally speaking it is a safer bet to use all the same ram. People have had issues here and there mixing. It should be fine, but if you start having any issues, check that first.
     
  5. Vertigoo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2015
    #5
    Thx a lot for your reactions. I feel better now :)
     
  6. im2slick4u, Oct 16, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2015

    im2slick4u macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Location:
    Michigan
    #6
    Don't mix two different frequencies of RAM. It can cause extreme issues in the prevention of errors in the code on your Mac. You could potentially crash your Mac and loose thousands of dollars or loose all of your apps and data on the computer. Only buy the same kind of RAM for the entire Mac. I would recommended ECC memory which stands for error correcting code which can automatically fix bugs in bad programs for you which actually improves the stability of the Mac.
     
  7. CelestialToys macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Location:
    up above the streets and houses
    #7
    You probably shouldn't comment when you don't know what you're talking about.
     
  8. im2slick4u macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Location:
    Michigan
    #8
    I actually took a computer operations in business and microsoft office class in high school last year so I am very educated on these types of machines. I also build custom pcs all by myself.
     
  9. CelestialToys macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Location:
    up above the streets and houses
    #9
    You may want to go back to school then. Almost everything in your comment is wrong.
     
  10. im2slick4u macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Location:
    Michigan
    #10
    Like what? Since you can't point out a single thing wrong with my statement you clearly don't know what you are talking about and YOU are the one who needs to go back to school. I help people build pcs all the time and i can code computers so I really do no my stuff. Don't go around calling people out on things you know nothing about.
     
  11. CelestialToys macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Location:
    up above the streets and houses
    #11
    Ok here we go then hot shot. ECC stands for Error correcting code, not extreme code correctness, and iMacs are not compatible with it anyway. The other stuff about not mixing frequencies of RAM is also not true. I await your apology, and in the meantime please stop spreading misinformation.
     
  12. Buerkletucson, Oct 16, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2015

    Buerkletucson macrumors 6502

    Buerkletucson

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    #12
    Performance hit or not I believe the OP got ripped off.........
    If he paid the going Apple rate for RAM (insanely priced) and they put in 1600 Mhz instead of 1867 Mhz I'd be pissed.

    Why take any slight performance hit & not have matching RAM when you pay Apple a premium?
    I'd demand the correct matching RAM or my money back.
     
  13. Vertigoo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2015
    #13
    I am really getting confused now...
    I'm not going to take any risk.
    I removed the 16gb and will go back to the apple retail store tomorrow.
    I will ask my money back and wait until the new RAM is available in Europe.
     
  14. Buerkletucson macrumors 6502

    Buerkletucson

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    #14
    Good move IMHO...
     
  15. CelestialToys macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Location:
    up above the streets and houses
    #15
    Yup I totally agree with this. Personally I would take it back get a refund and then buy RAM from Crucial once it's available.
     
  16. Vertigoo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2015
    #16
    The iMac has 1867 Mhz RAM, OWS sells 1866 Mhz RAM, does that make a difference?
    Anyone who knows where I can buy this RAM in Europe?
     
  17. Buerkletucson macrumors 6502

    Buerkletucson

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    #17
    1866.666

    Depends on how you want to round the number.
    It's the same.
     
  18. Vertigoo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2015
    #18
    Your guys are very helpful!
    Thx a lot!
     
  19. dborod macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    #19
    I don't think there's any danger to the hardware or software in having slower RAM mixed mixed with faster RAM. All of the RAM will be accessed at the speed of the slowest RAM, so your computer will be slightly slower than it otherwise might be.

    That said, you should get Apple to provide you with the fastest RAM that is compatible with the iMac.

    Oh, and iMac's can't make use of ECC RAM.
     
  20. CelestialToys macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Location:
    up above the streets and houses
    #20
    I believe Crucial will have it soon although it's not showing up on their website yet.
     
  21. im2slick4u macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Location:
    Michigan
    #21
    Lol learn to use Google and maybe you'll have some correct information instead of making up lies. This argument is over.
     
  22. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #22
    Indeed from the wackypedia link in that search "Error-correcting code memory (ECC memory) is a type of computer data storage that can detect and correct the most common kinds of internal data corruption.", what a clown...

    https://www.google.com/search?q=ecc+ram&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8
     
  23. im2slick4u macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Location:
    Michigan
    #23

    And.... That's literally what I said in my OP.
     
  24. CelestialToys macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Location:
    up above the streets and houses
    #24
    Jeez. There was no argument. You were wrong. You still are wrong and you'll always be wrong.

    I suggest that before you tell others to use Google that you at least take five minutes to use it yourself, then you wouldn't make yourself look silly.
     
  25. im2slick4u macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Location:
    Michigan
    #25
    No I'm pretty sure I'm right
     

Share This Page