Become a MacRumors Supporter for $25/year with no ads, private forums, and more!

iPad MLB.TV and Blackouts

CoachThompsonBR

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 8, 2014
9
0
I have an iPad 1(jailbroken) ,2, IMac and Apple TV and I am wanting to cut my cable. The only problem is that MLB.tv doesn't show the Braves in my area because of blackouts. Any solution to how I would be able to get the games on my TV?
 

oldhifi

macrumors 65816
Jan 12, 2013
1,494
746
USA
I dont think so, but you might check ...Justin.tv

I got most all the BRAVES games last year on Uverse..
 
Comment

jraske

macrumors newbie
Sep 23, 2012
22
0
I have an iPad 1(jailbroken) ,2, IMac and Apple TV and I am wanting to cut my cable. The only problem is that MLB.tv doesn't show the Braves in my area because of blackouts. Any solution to how I would be able to get the games on my TV?

You have a few options that all involve connecting a device to VPN to make it your IP address appear from another city. The options are:
  1. Connect your Apple TV to a VPN-enabled router
  2. Connect your iPad to a VPN and stream MLB.TV to your AppleTv
  3. Connect your iMac to VPN and then connect your Apple TV to VPN

Just Google Apple TV and VPN and you'll find instructions.
 
Comment

CoachThompsonBR

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 8, 2014
9
0
You have a few options that all involve connecting a device to VPN to make it your IP address appear from another city. The options are:
  1. Connect your Apple TV to a VPN-enabled router
  2. Connect your iPad to a VPN and stream MLB.TV to your AppleTv
  3. Connect your iMac to VPN and then connect your Apple TV to VPN

Just Google Apple TV and VPN and you'll find instructions.




Ok but the question is does MLB.TV allow you to watch full games on your iPad? I believe just the At Bat version is allowed. Second, I have heard of location spoof apps that are allowing people to confuse the network. Would that be of some assistance?
 
Comment

jraske

macrumors newbie
Sep 23, 2012
22
0
Ok but the question is does MLB.TV allow you to watch full games on your iPad? I believe just the At Bat version is allowed. Second, I have heard of location spoof apps that are allowing people to confuse the network. Would that be of some assistance?

I don't know. I watch them through At Bat.
 
Comment

oldhifi

macrumors 65816
Jan 12, 2013
1,494
746
USA
I don't know. I watch them through At Bat.

Yes if they are not blocked you can watch full Braves video from MLB subscription. I use to have it working away from home and it worked great..
 
Comment

oneMadRssn

macrumors 603
Sep 8, 2011
5,360
12,403
Europe
Unfortunately VPN seems to be the only solution right now. On the plus side, you get the benefit of more anonymity and security online.

Unfortunately these ridiculous blackout restrictions aren't going anywhere it seems.
 
Comment

CoachThompsonBR

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 8, 2014
9
0
Locationholic

Has anybody used a locationspoofer like Locationholic ?..... I downloaded it and it lets me fake my location on my ipad.
 
Comment

bobright

macrumors 601
Jun 29, 2010
4,775
25
Unfortunately VPN seems to be the only solution right now. On the plus side, you get the benefit of more anonymity and security online.

Unfortunately these ridiculous blackout restrictions aren't going anywhere it seems.
How would one bypass a NBALP blackout from a Mac?

Thanks
 
Comment

oneMadRssn

macrumors 603
Sep 8, 2011
5,360
12,403
Europe
Only a guess since I don't watch NBA, but I guess the same way as MLB. All the the methods described above should work. VPN or a SmartDNS service.
 
Comment

aznguyen316

macrumors 68010
Oct 1, 2008
2,000
0
Tampa, FL
Has anybody used a locationspoofer like Locationholic ?..... I downloaded it and it lets me fake my location on my ipad.


I am using it right now to watch the rays streaming from my phone to lightning to hdmi to HDTV. Using cydia location faker. Just have to initiate with LTE on since it will use wifi location first. So then turn on wifi after it thinks you're not in blackout area and good to go.
 
Comment

sampsonti

macrumors newbie
Apr 15, 2011
24
0
I am using it right now to watch the rays streaming from my phone to lightning to hdmi to HDTV. Using cydia location faker. Just have to initiate with LTE on since it will use wifi location first. So then turn on wifi after it thinks you're not in blackout area and good to go.

Can you explain for an idiot like me.

1. use location spoofer like.........
2. install this location spoofer
3. turn off wifi?????
once connected with location spoofer doing its thing turn back on wifi?

what if your ipad is wifi only.

I used this last year and it worked on ipad but not this year. HELP
 
Comment

Decimotox

macrumors 6502a
Jul 8, 2013
596
334
Use Firefox with a proxy add-on. It'll block your location by routing your connection through a remote server. I did that when I wanted to watch Twins games on MLB.tv here in Minneapolis.
 
Comment

sampsonti

macrumors newbie
Apr 15, 2011
24
0
Use Firefox with a proxy add-on. It'll block your location by routing your connection through a remote server. I did that when I wanted to watch Twins games on MLB.tv here in Minneapolis.

what is a proxy add on???
 
Comment

Mahler12x

macrumors regular
Feb 6, 2008
242
33
California
Locationholic

Well, I can confirm that Locationholic no longer works to spoof your location for the MLB at Bat app. Has MLB changed the way they verify your location?

When I go to a normally blacked out game, the little verifier app shows me in Mexico which is where I put it in Locationholic but it still pops up that I'm blacked out. I've tried restarting, rebooting, changing locations, etc. It simply doesn't work.

Anyone who finds a solution to this, I'll worship you.
 
Comment

sampsonti

macrumors newbie
Apr 15, 2011
24
0
Well, I can confirm that Locationholic no longer works to spoof your location for the MLB at Bat app. Has MLB changed the way they verify your location?

When I go to a normally blacked out game, the little verifier app shows me in Mexico which is where I put it in Locationholic but it still pops up that I'm blacked out. I've tried restarting, rebooting, changing locations, etc. It simply doesn't work.

Anyone who finds a solution to this, I'll worship you.

add me to that list...I have tried everything with locationholic and nothing works. Can anyone recommend anything...thanks
 
Comment

aznguyen316

macrumors 68010
Oct 1, 2008
2,000
0
Tampa, FL
MLB.TV and Blackouts

Well, I can confirm that Locationholic no longer works to spoof your location for the MLB at Bat app. Has MLB changed the way they verify your location?



When I go to a normally blacked out game, the little verifier app shows me in Mexico which is where I put it in Locationholic but it still pops up that I'm blacked out. I've tried restarting, rebooting, changing locations, etc. It simply doesn't work.



Anyone who finds a solution to this, I'll worship you.


Yeah as I mentioned they changed the app a little. On my iphone I just turn off wifi let it pass the blackout via LTE and then swipe up and turn wifi back on. Then press play again. Not sure how to bypass on ipad though. Sorry I forgot I'm in an iPad forum haha. I have an ipad but don't use mlb to stream on it oddly enough.

I'm using location faker. Paid cydia app 2.99 on iphone.

Another option is to use unblock-us $5 a month and you'll get access to blacked out games. I'm in a 7 day trial and works great so far for PC and xbox one app. Changes your DNS settings and works super well. Very happy and May sub to it to catch games hassle free.
 
Comment

sampsonti

macrumors newbie
Apr 15, 2011
24
0
Yeah as I mentioned they changed the app a little. On my iphone I just turn off wifi let it pass the blackout via LTE and then swipe up and turn wifi back on. Then press play again. Not sure how to bypass on ipad though. Sorry I forgot I'm in an iPad forum haha. I have an ipad but don't use mlb to stream on it oddly enough.

I'm using location faker. Paid cydia app 2.99 on iphone.

Another option is to use unblock-us $5 a month and you'll get access to blacked out games. I'm in a 7 day trial and works great so far for PC and xbox one app. Changes your DNS settings and works super well. Very happy and May sub to it to catch games hassle free.

I have tried that but will again. Turn off wifi, then let the app do its thing. Then turn wifi back on...will try
 
Comment

sampsonti

macrumors newbie
Apr 15, 2011
24
0
Yeah as I mentioned they changed the app a little. On my iphone I just turn off wifi let it pass the blackout via LTE and then swipe up and turn wifi back on. Then press play again. Not sure how to bypass on ipad though. Sorry I forgot I'm in an iPad forum haha. I have an ipad but don't use mlb to stream on it oddly enough.

I'm using location faker. Paid cydia app 2.99 on iphone.

Another option is to use unblock-us $5 a month and you'll get access to blacked out games. I'm in a 7 day trial and works great so far for PC and xbox one app. Changes your DNS settings and works super well. Very happy and May sub to it to catch games hassle free.

no luck for me. App fakes location but MLB still tells me I am in a blackout area:confused:
 
Comment

aznguyen316

macrumors 68010
Oct 1, 2008
2,000
0
Tampa, FL
no luck for me. App fakes location but MLB still tells me I am in a blackout area:confused:

Weird. I'm using location faker in cydia.. works fine using my method.

So does the game get going under LTE or whatever you're using? Or even under no wifi it shows blackout?
 
Comment
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.