iPad MLB.TV and Blackouts

Discussion in 'iPad' started by CoachThompsonBR, Mar 8, 2014.

  1. CoachThompsonBR macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    #1
    I have an iPad 1(jailbroken) ,2, IMac and Apple TV and I am wanting to cut my cable. The only problem is that MLB.tv doesn't show the Braves in my area because of blackouts. Any solution to how I would be able to get the games on my TV?
     
  2. oldhifi macrumors 6502a

    oldhifi

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    I dont think so, but you might check ...Justin.tv

    I got most all the BRAVES games last year on Uverse..
     
  3. jraske macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    #3
    You have a few options that all involve connecting a device to VPN to make it your IP address appear from another city. The options are:
    1. Connect your Apple TV to a VPN-enabled router
    2. Connect your iPad to a VPN and stream MLB.TV to your AppleTv
    3. Connect your iMac to VPN and then connect your Apple TV to VPN

    Just Google Apple TV and VPN and you'll find instructions.
     
  4. CoachThompsonBR thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    #4



    Ok but the question is does MLB.TV allow you to watch full games on your iPad? I believe just the At Bat version is allowed. Second, I have heard of location spoof apps that are allowing people to confuse the network. Would that be of some assistance?
     
  5. jraske macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    #5
    I don't know. I watch them through At Bat.
     
  6. alent1234 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    #6
    Its $150 for the season to watch full games plus the vpn
     
  7. oldhifi macrumors 6502a

    oldhifi

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    Yes if they are not blocked you can watch full Braves video from MLB subscription. I use to have it working away from home and it worked great..
     
  8. oneMadRssn macrumors 68040

    oneMadRssn

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #8
    Unfortunately VPN seems to be the only solution right now. On the plus side, you get the benefit of more anonymity and security online.

    Unfortunately these ridiculous blackout restrictions aren't going anywhere it seems.
     
  9. CoachThompsonBR thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    #9
    Locationholic

    Has anybody used a locationspoofer like Locationholic ?..... I downloaded it and it lets me fake my location on my ipad.
     
  10. mlemonds macrumors 6502a

    mlemonds

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Location:
    Lexington, KY
  11. CoachThompsonBR thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    #11
    What do you use unblock us for ? Ipad, Macbook, ...??
     
  12. mlemonds macrumors 6502a

    mlemonds

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Location:
    Lexington, KY
    #12
    I use thir DNS on my router. AppleTV ipad MacBook
     
  13. bobright macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #13
    How would one bypass a NBALP blackout from a Mac?

    Thanks
     
  14. oneMadRssn macrumors 68040

    oneMadRssn

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #14
    Only a guess since I don't watch NBA, but I guess the same way as MLB. All the the methods described above should work. VPN or a SmartDNS service.
     
  15. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #15

    I am using it right now to watch the rays streaming from my phone to lightning to hdmi to HDTV. Using cydia location faker. Just have to initiate with LTE on since it will use wifi location first. So then turn on wifi after it thinks you're not in blackout area and good to go.
     
  16. sampsonti macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    #16
    Can you explain for an idiot like me.

    1. use location spoofer like.........
    2. install this location spoofer
    3. turn off wifi?????
    once connected with location spoofer doing its thing turn back on wifi?

    what if your ipad is wifi only.

    I used this last year and it worked on ipad but not this year. HELP
     
  17. Decimotox macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    #17
    Use Firefox with a proxy add-on. It'll block your location by routing your connection through a remote server. I did that when I wanted to watch Twins games on MLB.tv here in Minneapolis.
     
  18. sampsonti macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    #18
    what is a proxy add on???
     
  19. Decimotox macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    #19
    Get FoxyProxy for Firefox. Just google it, my friend!
     
  20. Mahler12x macrumors regular

    Mahler12x

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #20
    Locationholic

    Well, I can confirm that Locationholic no longer works to spoof your location for the MLB at Bat app. Has MLB changed the way they verify your location?

    When I go to a normally blacked out game, the little verifier app shows me in Mexico which is where I put it in Locationholic but it still pops up that I'm blacked out. I've tried restarting, rebooting, changing locations, etc. It simply doesn't work.

    Anyone who finds a solution to this, I'll worship you.
     
  21. sampsonti macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    #21
    add me to that list...I have tried everything with locationholic and nothing works. Can anyone recommend anything...thanks
     
  22. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #22
    MLB.TV and Blackouts


    Yeah as I mentioned they changed the app a little. On my iphone I just turn off wifi let it pass the blackout via LTE and then swipe up and turn wifi back on. Then press play again. Not sure how to bypass on ipad though. Sorry I forgot I'm in an iPad forum haha. I have an ipad but don't use mlb to stream on it oddly enough.

    I'm using location faker. Paid cydia app 2.99 on iphone.

    Another option is to use unblock-us $5 a month and you'll get access to blacked out games. I'm in a 7 day trial and works great so far for PC and xbox one app. Changes your DNS settings and works super well. Very happy and May sub to it to catch games hassle free.
     
  23. sampsonti macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    #23
    I have tried that but will again. Turn off wifi, then let the app do its thing. Then turn wifi back on...will try
     
  24. sampsonti macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    #24
    no luck for me. App fakes location but MLB still tells me I am in a blackout area:confused:
     
  25. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #25
    Weird. I'm using location faker in cydia.. works fine using my method.

    So does the game get going under LTE or whatever you're using? Or even under no wifi it shows blackout?
     

Share This Page