MMS on AT&T MediaNet Plan

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Knolly, Sep 27, 2009.

  1. Knolly macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    #1
    Some searching didn't turn up anything, although it may have been lost in the throngs of MMS threads...

    Has anyone with the MediaNet data plan and a standard non-iPhone messaging plan gotten MMS to work? I've tried pretty much every guide and carrier settings I can find out there in the last month and haven't had any luck. I have the $30 unlimited data + messaging plan, which definitely includes MMS, because I can slap my SIM card in a Nokia and use MMS, but I can't for the life of me get this working on my 3GS.

    In b4 someone telling me to get an actual iPhone plan.
     
  2. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #2
    if it doesnt work maybe try getting an actual iphone plan:p

    no such thing as a free lunch
     
  3. bruinsrme macrumors 601

    bruinsrme

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    #3
    I have the Family Messaging Plan. When I looked at my bill this month the 2 iphones were littered with Medianet entries for messaging for the first time.

    My phone has been getting MMS via the hacked 5.1 ipcc for about 3 weeks. Haven't talked to my son in a while but from the looks of his messaging he has had MMS for over a month now.
     
  4. SpaceKitty macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #4
    I was able to finally get MMS to work with my GoPhone sim in my 3G iPhone. It only worked once I went to a medianet website and signed up. I can't remember what the site was and I can't find it in my Safari history either. I don't have a data plan on this GoPhone account and all you need is an SMS package, I have the 1,000 SMS one.

    I found the Medianet website by reading one of the MMS threads on Friday.
     
  5. Knolly thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    #5
    Oh now you're just asking for it...

    Honestly, I won't be too upset if I can't get MMS since most people know to just picture message my email anyway, and it's certainly not worth an extra $20 a month, haha.

    I have a new theory: I've updated my carrier file so many times that I've borked my iPhone one way or another. I'll try giving it a restore some time tonight and see what happens.
     
  6. SpaceKitty macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #6
  7. SpaceKitty macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #7
    Here's a screen cap from my GoPhone account page. It lists unlimited data at the bottom. It will be active on October 1.

    [​IMG]
     
  8. Jumpie macrumors 6502a

    Jumpie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #8
    Mine has been working on the MEdiaNet plan for months now. No issues.
     
  9. Knolly thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    #9
    Turns out I was right... My incessant tweaking had messed up something somewhere. A restore to 3.0 + carrier file update got it working instantly. Thanks for everyone's help!
     

Share This Page