MobileMe Account Renewal - error occured

Discussion in 'Apple Music, Apple Pay, iCloud, Apple Services' started by felixkunze, Aug 7, 2008.

  1. felixkunze macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    West Sussex, UK
    #1
    My MobileMe Account expires today. I oredered a new mobileme code and received it in the mail today.

    After entering my code into me.com/activate, selecting 'Renew an existing account' and pressing continue, all I get is a message "MobileMe Activation - Error Occured". I tried with 'renew an expired account' and checked the code I am entering thoroughly. I've tried several times, both at the office and at home. I get the same error each time.

    Calls to Apple Tech Support have proven futile ("MobileMe Support is only done online - huh?"). Online chat isn't available and after all the trouble I had with my renewal in the first place, I'm loosing faith.

    I'll be without MobileMe if this doesn't work. Itself not a problem but I don't feel they are going to resolve it anytime soon unless I figure out for myself what the problem is. I will try again in a couple of hours, maybe there's some server offline for maintenance. Who knows.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. g4cubed macrumors 6502a

    g4cubed

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2004
    #2
    I had a similar experience trying to renew my .mac account. I'm about ready to give up and go to google mail. Damn shame they didn't get the bugs out before implementing this.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. bbotte macrumors 65816

    bbotte

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    SO I have my code that I bought a couple of weeks ago, so you are saying put it in before my 60 days is up and I will not get this error?
     
  4. felixkunze thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    West Sussex, UK
    #4
    You are lucky because any problems you may have will be sorted out by then (at least theoretically). I wouldn't worry if you have another 60 days.

    By the way, you can apply the code now, it will tack it onto the end of your 60 days, not instead. At least as far as I know.
     
  5. bbotte macrumors 65816

    bbotte

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    Yeah mine is up Sept 16. You have any links to show proof of that? Thanks in advance.
     
  6. felixkunze thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    West Sussex, UK
    #6
    If you are on a trial, I am not sure it works the same. But for paid accounts I am pretty sure it tacks it onto the end. Proof is somewhere in apple.com/support/mobileme.
     
  7. felixkunze thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    West Sussex, UK
  8. d21mike macrumors 68040

    d21mike

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    #8
    Have you tried on the Account Page at:

    https://secure.me.com/account/

    See Account Options - "Skip Trial"

    By the way, notice it says "Skip Trial" and not add to end of Trial. Just a guess that it does not add to the end of your trial. Maybe to the end of your paid subscription.
     
  9. felixkunze thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    West Sussex, UK
    #9
    Issue resolved

    Got onto Mobileme Support Chat. The Rep there went into my account and said I "had some settings enabled that blocked the renewal". He then asked me to clear my Firefox Cache and try again. It then just activated as it was supposed to.
     
  10. felixkunze thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    West Sussex, UK
    #10
    Spoke too soon

    this utterly confuses me. Does anyone know why it would want another 10.24 GBP when I've just entered a code?

    Another big sigh. Can't be bothered to get onto the MobileMe Support chat and wait another 45 mins.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. d21mike macrumors 68040

    d21mike

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    #11
    This is indeed confusing. I am in the US so not sure of the GBP Pricing. Also, are you getting the Single or Family Plan. Did you go thru the Account Page / Skip Trial or the /Activate path (or are they the same)?

    Please post back what you find out. At the end of my trial I was planning to just get a Key from Amazon for the Family Plan. Assuming all goes well.
     
  12. felixkunze thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    West Sussex, UK
    #12
    Bizzare

    I received the below email from Apple (I blanked out my email address). So all seems well. But when I check my account at secure.me.com/account, it still says my subscription will end today.

    But when I go into 'Account Options', it does say my account expires in 2009, so I'm not worried anymore. And its not trying to bill me for some unrelated sum either.

    You can upgrade to a family plan online. In fact, it will calculate the cost by the number of days you have left on your regular subscription. When I had 1 day left, it wanted to charge me 7 pence for 1 days family plan. I don't need a family plan, I was just messing around.

    So it looks like they did the right thing but its still not reflected everywhere in my account.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Kinaiahi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    #13
    I had the same problem. Had to talk to an online rep and he told me to clear my cache as well. Everything looked fine that day, but i checked my renewal date on my MobileMe and it said i only have another 30 days left. So confused, gonna have to talk to an online rep again it seems.
     
  14. Apple Ink macrumors 68000

    Apple Ink

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    #14
    The GBP10 thing has been noted earlier as well!

    Let me find the thread for you now!
     
  15. Daveoc64 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #15
    As far as I can tell, they changed the prices to include VAT on most pages about a week after MobileMe launched.

    I guess the problem here is that your code is programmed to subtract the subscription *without* VAT but the price is being listed as *with* VAT so you're getting an error as a result.
     
  16. Maxington macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Location:
    Oshkosh, WI
    #16
    MobileMe renew has been having lots of problems. You can check the discussion boards at Apple.com as well.

    UPDATE:

    I purchased a MobileMe Family Pack from Amazon.com and entered in into my account. But today it renewed, but I was still charged a $50 upgrade fee for the account..!!!

    Anyone have the same problem?
     
  17. siddhartha macrumors member

    siddhartha

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Location:
    Northern Virgina
    #17
    this happened to me...

    Last year when I renewed .mac, I still got the "x days until renewal" message, rather than the new expiration date.

    I spoke with Apple, and they said that entering the code sets your account up for renewal on the last day, so you actually have to go into the account setting to see that your code was accepted.

    I just renewed using a store-bought box/code, and initially got the error message in Safari. I then loaded Firefox, and was able to successfully enter the code, and saw my renewal post to my account.

    Odd that Safari isn't working to renew MobileMe!

    Chris
     
  18. dalvin200 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #18
    its actually £48ish excl VAT..

    VAT is charged at 21% as the apple address is in ireland not england :(

    my mobileme account renewed just yesterday and on the invoice it said VAT @ 21% when i was expectng 17.5% (UK).. then i remembered reading somewhere about the apple registered in ireland thing..

    still a bit of a con and i may contact apple to query it
     
  19. Maxington macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Location:
    Oshkosh, WI
    #19
    My problem was that the code was accepted on the date of renewal (last day) but it ALSO charge me an extra $50 dollars for a Family Pack upgrade although I had a family pack already AND used a Family Pack code to renew.
     
  20. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #20
    My account expired today, with no promised 30-day extension. I had 2 chat agents both swear that this would not happen, that the account would be extended instead of being canceled; however, they both also suggested that I back everything uyp just in case. I may talk to a chat agent 1 more time, and then that is it for me.
     
  21. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #21
    Now they say that the extension has been applied and it will expire Sept 9, but there is no evidence of that; the status still says expired and the FAQ has not been updated to say it has been applied. And this time when I was done it never asked me if I wanted a transcript!
     

Share This Page