MobileMe Continues To Go Down Hill

Discussion in 'Apple Music, Apple Pay, iCloud, Apple Services' started by TXCraig, Oct 3, 2008.

  1. TXCraig macrumors 6502a

    TXCraig

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #1
    Ok, I know that I can't be the only guy out here with this problem. I have had a iPhone from day one and have alway been able to sync my phone via iTunes with outlook on my work conputer. Its always worked.

    MobileMe comes out and I think... GREAT, now I don't have to sync my phone every time I add a contact for change a meeting. Well, its never worked right for me and after spending days trying- I just gave up. I was thinking that there might be a update that will make things work.

    Today I saw there was a new MobileMe client for Windows- so I tried it again. Now its ever worse! They now have MM checking to see if you have outlook running with Exchange (I would imagine most people at work do) and it will NOT even let you sync! Its says its not supported! Here is what it says:

    "MobileMe allows you to sync your contacts and calendars with Microsoft Outlook, unless Outlook is configured to use Microsoft Exchange Server. In this situation, syncing your Outlook data with MobileMe is not supported. If you have an iPhone or an iPod touch, and if your IT manager has configured Microsoft Exchange ActiveSync on the Exchange server, you can view both your MobileMe and Exchange data on your iPhone / iPod touch that has software 2.0 or later installed."

    Now, I sure I'm not the only one either that "pigs will fly" in my company before they allow me to hook my iPhone up to our corporate exchange servers or even attach an iPhone to our corprate network. No I will NEVER be able to sync outlook with my iPhone over the air.

    Its almost like Apple is trying to make you set up the exchange access... what they don't realize is that most of us can't make those decisions....
     
  2. 7on macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #2
    Yeah.

    What is the reason the two can't be supported? Can you have two exchange accounts set up in Outlook?
     
  3. jontucker macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    #3
    Nope.
     
  4. paulsalter macrumors 68000

    paulsalter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Yes, I have 2 exchange accounts set up in Outlook, use them both daily at work (email, contacts & calendar)
     
  5. jontucker macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    #5
    Only in separate profiles and therefore Outlook is not connected to both at the same time.

    The work around for that is to delegate one to the other so you can see both at once. Not that it's got anything to do with MM of course. Just saying.
     

Share This Page