MobileMe Gallery Address...

Discussion in 'Apple Music, Apple Pay, iCloud, Apple Services' started by iNash, Feb 11, 2009.

  1. iNash macrumors 6502

    iNash

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Location:
    Hanslope, UK
    #1
    Hi all,

    I have been searching for this for a few hours now, and hopefully someone here can help...

    Is there anyway for me to hide my MobileMe Gallery URL (or replace it with another one)

    For example, if I wanted people looking at my Gallery (linked from another webpage) to see: http://www.myURL.com instead of http://gallery.me.com/mynamehere

    Cheers
     
  2. jc1350 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #2
    not unless Apple allows it as an option in the same way it does for personal domains and the regular web space (web.me.com).
     
  3. PDACPA macrumors regular

    PDACPA

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Location:
    Florida
    #3
    In Mobile Me, you can select the preferences and hide the album. However, then all the albums are hidden. The only way to share them is to send the unique web address that Mobile Me provides.

    I noticed a friend has a gallery and there are maybe 12 albums. 3 of them you can see the pictures in them. The others have a little lock in the bottom right.

    I would like to do that so I can show that there are multiple albums, but I control who can see what. I assume if it has a lock, there is a password protection.

    I tried "hiding" my album and it just disappears from the gallery instead of doing what I want which is to leave it on the gallery page with a lock.

    Can anyone shed any light? I have a Mac with ilife installed too as I wondered if that might be how it is done instead of via mobile me.
     
  4. RumMunkey macrumors 6502a

    RumMunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US) AppleWebKit/525.19 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/1.0.154.48 Safari/525.19)

    My domain host lets me create a "Frame Re-direct" using any of my domain names (or created subdomains) pointing to any URL I want.

    http://photos.scottcoates.com/
     
  5. jc1350 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #5
    How exactly did you do it? I have GoDaddy and it allows me to forward domains.

    If I set up "photos.jmclark.org" as a CNAME that points to @ and forward to http://gallery.me.com/j_m_clark, I get an Apache error that the request could not be completed and in addition there was a permissions error accessesing the 404-error document.

    If I set it up as an A-record (using one of the IP addresses for gallery.me.com), the forwarding results in:

    Invalid URL
    The requested URL "/", is invalid.

    Reference #9.17b302cc.1235487391.0


    I know I'm doing something wrong, but I don't know what.
     
  6. jc1350 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #6
    Never mind. With GoDaddy it worked when I set it up as a sub-domain. I was using the domain forwarding for the entire domain and that is what wrong.
     
  7. Drlyman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    #7
    Could you elaborate on this? I have GoDaddy and am trying to point my domain name to my mobileme gallery and it is not working for me. Thanks
     
  8. macbookairman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Location:
    United States
    #8
    Do you want to point your whole domain (www.example.com) or a subdomain (photos.example.com)?
     
  9. jc1350 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #9
    I pointed just a sub-domain called photos to the Gallery URL.

    ex: http://photos.jmclark.org

    This allows my primary domain to function as desired. (http://www.jmclark.org can continue going to whatever host I specify, my personal domain email at gmail still functions, etc).
     
  10. platypus63 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Location:
    Zanzibar Land
    #10
    I'm trying to do the same exact thing, except point the mobileme gallery to my main domain name. I have godaddy as well. What settings do I use on godaddy? Regular forwarding doesn't seem to work.

    Thanks
     

Share This Page