mobileme/iweb/go daddy domain help.

Discussion in 'Apple Music, Apple Pay, iCloud, Apple Services' started by benhewitt, Oct 15, 2009.

  1. benhewitt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    #1
    so i've created a site in iweb. published it to my mobile me, played around with it for a bit to make it aesthetically pleasing. then bought my domain name from godaddy. renamed my cname and set my domain in my mobile me account. here's where i'm stumped. my website is coming up as "www.mydomainname.com/iwebsitename/page_.html"

    how do i set it so that my site is just "www.mydomainname.com/?

    any help is welcome! thanks in advance
     
  2. SchneiderMan macrumors G3

    SchneiderMan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Location:
    Apple state
    #2
    You can change the 2 names after your domain name but it isnt easy to just have www.yourname.com when using iweb.

    To change the iwebsitename you need to change the name that you called your first/main page in iweb, so open inspector and in "page" you will be able to change the name. then for page.html thats what your page is named, im guessing you have two pages? like i said rename with inspector.

    You can mask your domain name via godaddy dns settings like i did in my site in my sig bellow, but i found out it doesnt work out all the time..
     
  3. Perrumpo macrumors 68000

    Perrumpo

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    10th floor
    #3
    I had wondered about this, too, and also if there's anything you can do about your other iWeb sites publishing to your personal domain name when you want them on the mobileme domain name.
     
  4. redboxcar macrumors 6502

    redboxcar

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    #4
    I already set up the CNAME and MobileMe to work together and it says it's working, but whenever I go to my domain, it just says that my domain is parked for free by godaddy.com. It did say when I set it up that it might take 48 hours for it to start working, but it's been a week and it's still not working. Any ideas?
     
  5. redboxcar macrumors 6502

    redboxcar

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    #5
    Does anyone know the answer to my above question? :confused:
     
  6. moviebrain macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    #6
    I have the same setup, here's what I did

    Leave your site URL as it is, the www.yourdomain.com/site/index.htm

    What you need to do is go into your Godaddy control panel and set up a forwarding/redirect to the ../site/index.htm file, so when www.yourdomain.com is entered it auto forwards to www.yourdomain.com/site/index.htm

    It seems silly, but for whatever reason MobileMe doesn't allow publishing to a root directory, the sitename is the directory it is uploaded to.
     
  7. moviebrain macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    #7
    First, clear your browser cache and try again. See if that fixes your problem.

    If that still doesn't work double check you setup the "www" field correctly in your Godaddy control panel. If I remember correctly there is a www field and a cname field you need to update. MobileMe has a FAQ page about setting up GoDaddy hosting, so start from scratch step by step and don't assume you did it right the first time. It feels more complicated than it should be, but isn't. It's like forgetting a semicolon at the end of a programming statement... super easy to do but hard as hell to find when it throws errors at you.
     
  8. Rich1963 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    #8
    Use godaddy's help button, and then search using the term 'mobileme'. I am brand new to web design and uploading a site (just started yesterday), but using their directions, was able to get everything in order. As long as you follow their instructions step-by-step, it will work.

    Oh, and their tech support line was very nice, too. They contacted me to welcome me as a new customer, and their tech department looked over my settings and confirmed everything was ready to go, but it just hadn't completely circulated through the internets yet.

    Good luck. I'm finding learning to make a web site that has some nice interactive features is both a learning experience and rewarding when things final fall into place.
     

Share This Page