MobileMe runs too often and slows my Mac Pro down drastically!

Discussion in 'Apple Music, Apple Pay, iCloud, Apple Services' started by IanToronto, Feb 21, 2009.

  1. IanToronto macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    #1
    MobileMe runs too frequently. When it kicks in, my computer slows to a crawl or freezes for a minute. The spinning circle will appear until it clears.

    Every time MobileMe kicks in, it seems to rob all the power out of my Pro. If I am typing, it just freezes for a while (spinning circle) and I have to wait for it to "catch up".

    Any suggestions, remedies, out there?

    Thanks,
    I.
    :apple:
     
  2. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #2
    You could change the frequency in settings so that it runs less often.
     
  3. IanToronto thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    #3
    I tried to change it, but it doesn't give a selection of frequency times. It just says 'daily', 'weekly' etc
     
  4. schizoidwoman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Location:
    On top of a steep hill in West Yorkshire.
    #4
    A sync completely freezing your MBP for a minute dosn't sound right to me (though I could be wrong!); how often is it actually performing a sync?

    If changing the sync frequency really isn't going to do it for you, you could simply set it to manual sync only and that would give you complete control over when it happens, especially if it's causing full freezes!
     
  5. IanToronto thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    #5
    Yes, I am sure there is something wrong with the sync, but I don't know how to diagnose it, then cure it. It really disrupts the flow of my work. Maybe I will have to lug it to Apple's Genius Bar? Grrrr...
     
  6. schizoidwoman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Location:
    On top of a steep hill in West Yorkshire.
    #6
    Before you do that, have you tried MM help (or calling AppleCare if you're covered)? I know the MobileMe help has a bit of a mixed reputation but it might well save you a journey if they can solve it!
     
  7. IanToronto thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    #7
    Good advice. I will call AppleCare and explain it. Have a start-up problem too. Something in my Apple is rotten and needs to be purged.

    Have a feeling it will need a complete diagnostic in the end, but I will try your suggestions first.

    Thanks :apple:
     
  8. schizoidwoman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Location:
    On top of a steep hill in West Yorkshire.
  9. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #9
    OP, how much ram do you have and what's the size of your hard drive? And are you making the determination based on readings from iStats or some other program to monitor what is going on with your Pro? Which pro are you talking about, the MacBook Pro or the Mac Pro (desktop)?
     
  10. Technonut2000 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    #10
    Mobileme Sync Slows Computer

    I am running a MacBook Pro with 3 Gigs memory and 12 gigs FREE hard drive space. When I resume from a sleep the Sync starts nearly immediately and slows everything to a crawl. It still works but can take minutes to just open an email. I too wish there was a way to control sync a little better. I want it to sync all the time when I change things as I have an iPhone and want appointments and contacts to update right away. BUT, I wish it would just do it when my computr is IDLE! After all, when you get on your computer you're actually probably trying to do something. I've working on the habit of opening it 20 minutes before I want to do something so SYNC can do it's thing and then it will be quick when I need it. If sync would just have the option to 'sync when idle' then things would work themselves out quickly.

    Is there a way?
     
  11. d21mike macrumors 68040

    d21mike

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    #11
    It has Hourly also.
     
  12. Dr McKay macrumors 68040

    Dr McKay

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Location:
    Kirkland
    #12
    When a MobileMe Sync happens on my Windows Laptop, the CPU spins up to about 10%, the only thing I notice is it swamps the network, sucking down all the bandwidth.
     

Share This Page