Mobileme 'unknown validation error'

Discussion in 'Apple Music, Apple Pay, iCloud, Apple Services' started by MKnight, Aug 11, 2008.

  1. MKnight macrumors regular

    MKnight

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    #1
    Did a fresh install of OSX, downloaded combo update to 10.5.4. Noticed that software update had NO mobile me update. So I downloaded the standalone version. Now when I try to login in system preferences, I get a 'unknown validation error' every time.

    Web access for mobile me works fine and authenticates my user/pass.

    Can't seem to find a fix...

    Anyone have suggestions perhaps?
     
  2. tawbrey macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    #2
    Did you ever find a solution? I'm getting the same error on one of my Macs. The Tiger Mac has synced no problem with MobileMe (set up Calendar, Mail, and Contacts one at a time or System Preferences will lock up), and my iPhone works great. Online I can log into MobileMe. But I'm having a lot of problems with my Leopard notebook Mac. I've been trying for weeks now and I've only been able to log in a couple of times. Then it promptly locks up when syncing and I can't log back in. Did you ever find out why this is happening? This is the only computer I've ever had an issue logging into MobileMe.
     
  3. MKnight thread starter macrumors regular

    MKnight

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    #3
    I ended up reinstalling the OS. It turns out I had to click on the .mac icon and wait a few seconds. The Apple rep told me there is a timer and it checks to see if there is an update. Sure enough it asked me to update and download it.

    I recently did a fresh install of 10.5 though and upgraded straight to 10.5.5 and the MobileMe update was part of it.
     
  4. tawbrey macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    #4
    I already have 10.5.5. I ended up contacting Apple Support. They tried resetting my password, plus creating a new user on my machine to log in (I've never seen the screen rotate between users -- VERY cool), but nothing worked. They transferred me to a "specialist" who said this is a known glitch with MobileMe and they're working on it. They've asked me for a bunch of logs and files. I'll post the findings when I hear back in case anyone else has had this problem.

    Meanwhile, MobileMe online, on my other Mac, and on my iPhone works great. Now if they just had a great Task app...
     
  5. Young Turk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    #5
    Having the same trouble here all of a sudden. Web access to MM works great, iphone to MM sync works great, just can't sync from/to iCal or iDisk.

    YoungTurk
     
  6. contempt macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Location:
    Brooklyn
    #6
    Has there been a solution to this, as I just hit this bug on my MacPro 10.5.6. It happened only three weeks ago (can't remember what might have caused it) and everything had been working great up until that point. MobileMe is fine on my MacBookPro, iPhone and via the browser. Just this one computer for the PrefPane.
     
  7. Wild-Bill macrumors 68030

    Wild-Bill

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Location:
    bleep
    #7
    Has ANYONE figured this one out?

    I'm having this error now as well on my Mac Pro.

    No problems on my MBA or Powerbook, or iPhone for that matter.

    This problem is driving me CRAZY. :mad:
     
  8. Wild-Bill macrumors 68030

    Wild-Bill

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Location:
    bleep
  9. Wild-Bill macrumors 68030

    Wild-Bill

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Location:
    bleep

Share This Page