Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

DannyNguyener

macrumors regular
Original poster
Mar 13, 2010
I'm wondering what all you guys use out there as an alternative. I'm new to Macs, I absolutely love Mac, however I'm not a fan boy. I still use Windows from time to time and Windows Mobile as well. I tried Live Mesh but its still in the beta process and does not have much to offer. I understand MobileMe offers Windows support but are there any alternatives?

tersono

macrumors 68000
Jan 18, 2005
UK
Depends on what features are important to you.

You can do bookmark synching with Xmarks. Email and calendaring with Gmail, idisk with any cheap web space provider.

What mobileme does is package everything together in a cohesive package. Personally I find it very convenient despite having access to all of the alternatives as well.

It's down to your needs. If you think you'll use a good percentage of the features available (and it's not good value unless you will), then I'd suggest doing the 30-day trial and see how it goes...

Cancelled
May 21, 2009
I've been slowly, slowly moving everything away before the subscription expires on my account. I've been a MM subscriber for about two years and it's "ok" but nothing spectacuular... I wouldn't say it's overpriced, but there is some inherit mediocrity in some things. Mail, for instance, doesn't have server-side filtering and the webmail function is dog slow if you have a lot of mail. iDisk is integrated right into the OS but can be finicky (ie. Error -14, or random "iDisk not in sync" errors) and is not SSL secured.

I switched my e-mail, calendar, and contacts back to Yahoo, and use Dropbox for cloud storage.