iPhone MobileSubstrate on iOS 8.1

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Alveezy, Oct 29, 2014.

  1. Alveezy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Location:
    Hawaii
    #1
    Before i jump the gun and upgrade to 8.1(coming from the last iOS 7 JB), I would like to know what the current issues are and i know that You'd have to respring after every reboot but how will you achieve that without the respring button that the substrate provides? How can you perform "respring" from the main springboard? do you have to boot into safe mode first?
     
  2. hakr100 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Location:
    East Coast
    #2
    Installing what's currently available is more like jumping the shark in terms of how reliable your iPhone will be afterwards.
     
  3. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #3
    the latest cydia substrate update and pangu untether update makes it that you don't need to respring after reboot

    besides that, i think there are issues with having a passcode/touch id enabled which seems to be caused by having cydia installed

    there are other bugs too, i'm sure, but none that i'm aware of as i'm still on 7.1.2 JB
     
  4. dlmart2 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #4
    mobile substrate and other bugs have been fixed. The only remaining bug that I am aware of is the passcode/touch id bug (boot problems). People have used workarounds but Saurik does not recommend it. Some people have reported that holding the volume up key during reboot allows you to boot up fine with passcode/touch id enabled. I chose to just leave passcode disabled until its fixed.
     
  5. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #5
    Wouldn't booting up by holding the volume up key just boot you into safe mode?
    If I leave passcode or touch ID off then I wont be able to use Touch ID.
     
  6. dlmart2 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #6
    I don't know, I have not tried to enable passcode. I'm just reporting what some have said they were able to do.
     
  7. oplix macrumors 65816

    oplix

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Location:
    New York, NY
  8. HankHowdy macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #8
    There is also safari bugs. Unless the latest MS update fixed that?
     
  9. dlmart2 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #9

    What Safari bugs are you still having?
     
  10. HankHowdy macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #10

    I was having scrolling issues. When scrolling the page would load in sections. You couldn't scroll quickly, if you did you would have to wait for it to load.

    Also have the error about having to reload the page.

    I was able to get my iPad updated before they pulled the update. I didn't make it with my iPhone. Still waiting for pangu to put the update back up. So my iPhone remains stock for now.
     
  11. dlmart2 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #11
    You're out of the loop.. the update has been made avail again.

     
  12. HankHowdy macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #12

    I tried last night and when I opened the pangu app there was no update.
     
  13. rick snagwell macrumors 68040

    rick snagwell

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    oceanside, ca
    #13
    only bug i have it passcode/touch id. and only thing that sucks is not being able to double tap touch id to bring screen down halfway.
     
  14. bushido Suspended

    bushido

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    Germany
    #14
    make it an activator gesture (same one)
     
  15. rick snagwell macrumors 68040

    rick snagwell

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    oceanside, ca
    #15
    genius!
     
  16. dlmart2 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #16

    I just tried it on my iPad mini and the update is there.. not sure why you don't see it.
     
  17. HankHowdy macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #17

    I haven't tried today. Thanks for the heads up.
     
  18. dlmart2 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #18
    It;s been there all along, it was added back the same day it was pulled.
     
  19. HankHowdy macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #19

    The update is in the pangu app?
     
  20. rick snagwell macrumors 68040

    rick snagwell

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    oceanside, ca
    #20
    bummer. dont work.
     
  21. dlmart2 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #21
    yes. open the Pangu app, on the bottom of the screen you will see Home -Manager - About Us. Click on manager and the update will be in there.
     
  22. HankHowdy macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #22

    Cool , that's where I wad looking yesterday. I will run pangu in an hour or so.
     
  23. 3gbuff macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    #23
    Just jailbroke, installed xbmc and password pilot. Both work well so far. Had to disable passcode Touch ID. I can live without it til a fix is found.
     
  24. HankHowdy macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #24

    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1414635374.534117.jpg

    It's not here. I'm going to have to restore again. Should have trusted my gut. I knew that it was pulled. There isn't even a thread about the update being back up.
     
  25. Alveezy thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Location:
    Hawaii
    #25
    I think i'll just wait till they update the current Cydia build. Idk if i can leave my phone without passcode...
     

Share This Page