Modding PC100/133 SDRAM

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Sawtooth811, Dec 6, 2007.

  1. Sawtooth811 macrumors 6502

    Sawtooth811

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Location:
    Charleston, IL
    #1
    Anyway to Mod or customize PC100/PC133 SDRAM in a G4?
     
  2. SmurfBoxMasta macrumors 65816

    SmurfBoxMasta

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Location:
    I'm only really here at night.
    #2
    whahUmean, huuummmm ?
     
  3. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #3
    what do you want to mod it for? it is already compatable...
     
  4. Sawtooth811 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Sawtooth811

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Location:
    Charleston, IL
    #4
    Mod it as in making it better or faster, not compatible!
     
  5. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #5
    the system bus is only 100mhz. will faster ram have any benefit?
     
  6. SmurfBoxMasta macrumors 65816

    SmurfBoxMasta

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Location:
    I'm only really here at night.
    #6
    NO it won't.....in fact, putting faster ram in a slower slot may work just fine (to a point), but is essentially a waste of the ram....

    ie using PC-133 in a B&W G3, which is spec'd for PC-100 or putting PC-2700 in a system spec'd for PC-2100..... Yea it works, but the ram just DOWNclocks itself to run at the lower speed :p
     
  7. Sawtooth811 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Sawtooth811

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Location:
    Charleston, IL
    #7
    You're absolutely right, because the PC100 RAM slots will only let PC133's run at 100MHz instead of 133MHz, but I'm trying to find a way to MOD the G4 SAWTOOTH NOT Gigabit Ethernet (also known as Medusa2).
     
  8. SmurfBoxMasta macrumors 65816

    SmurfBoxMasta

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Location:
    I'm only really here at night.
    #8
    Ok but whats a GE got to do with this ? If you want to mod the machine itself, the only way I could think of is to replace the memory controller on the mobo, which would be relatively easy except for one thing: you'd have to find a faster, compatible one first.

    And since apple isn't in the habit of selling repair parts to just anyone, that would indeed be a difficult task :p
     
  9. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #9
    So you want to mod the memory bus clock on a Sawtooth motherboard (not mod PC100/133 RAM) correct?

    Not going to happen. There are no BIOS settings to change or jumpers to move for clock speed. Unless you're going to get into cutting traces and replacing components on the mobo, which would be foolishness incarnate.
     
  10. Sawtooth811 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Sawtooth811

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Location:
    Charleston, IL
    #10
    Actually it is possible to change the FSB with a DIP switch without damaging it, depending on how you set the clock speed, but I'm trying to find a DIFFERENT, more unique way to mod RAM, instead of changing speeds.
     
  11. Lord Blackadder macrumors G5

    Lord Blackadder

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Location:
    Sod off
    #11
    Like what? There really is no productive mod for memory other than overclocking it, and even that is often either not possible or too risky for the small potential gain.
     
  12. Sawtooth811 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Sawtooth811

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Location:
    Charleston, IL
    #12
    It is NOT that risky to put a DIP switch in the motherboard, and configure the jumpers correctly. You just need to be careful and have some soldering skills.
     
  13. Synthabusion macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #13
    Ahhh I love reading your posts sawtooth...guaranteed way to make my day
     
  14. Sawtooth811 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Sawtooth811

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Location:
    Charleston, IL
    #14
    What is that supposed to mean?
     
  15. Sawtooth811 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Sawtooth811

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Location:
    Charleston, IL
    #15
    GE RAM mods are different, since its the REV2 motherboard.
     
  16. dukeblue91 macrumors 65816

    dukeblue91

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #16
    Go here for all your speed up needs OWC
     

Share This Page