Modem version after pwned 2.0.1?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by DN7335, Aug 10, 2008.

  1. DN7335 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    #1
    I updated my pwned 2.0 firmware to 2.0.1. Everything worked fine, but I noticed that my modem version is still on 1.45. Anyone else notice this or have any ideas why it wouldn't update to the newer version?

    When I restored, I did not go into DFU mode as the guide said this was optional if you were already pwned. I'm wondering if that might be the difference...
     
  2. lyptt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #2
    Pwnage removes the baseband update so that there's a future possibility of unlocking the phone.
     
  3. cal6n macrumors 68000

    cal6n

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Gloucester, UK
    #3
    As I'm happy with O2, I wanted to jailbreak my phone but also update the baseband to the latest version. So, before running Pwnage, I restored my Pwned phone's 2.0.0 firmware to 2.0.1 through iTunes.

    My modem version is 01.48.02

    Oh, and "Locate Me" is working fine in GoogleMaps, although I can't say whether these 2 things are related or not.
     
  4. DN7335 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    #4
    I was afraid that that was going to be the case. I'm "happy" with AT&T as well and have no plans to switch carriers, so I want the modem update also. Guess I will have to restore to official 2.0.1 and then reinstall the pwned firmware. Did you have to go into DFU mode to restore the official 2.0.1 to get the modem update?
     
  5. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    Does the modem update bring any more stability? I'm going to be with AT&T until at least my contract is up. I figure it'd be easier to sell an unlocked phone than a locked one 2 years from now, so that's the only reason I care about an unlock. I figured by then it'll be pwned all over so it could be downgraded and then pwned or whatever. So it's probably not an issue.

    So if the upgrade is going to improve performance and possible for me to do still, I think it's worth it.
     
  6. DN7335 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    #6
    I read some reports of people getting a bar or two better reception after the update. The reception in my house is spotty so this is important to me. I'll report back if I see any improvement, will update tonight.
     
  7. cal6n macrumors 68000

    cal6n

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Gloucester, UK
    #7
    No. Just click on restore in iTunes and behave like a normal "jailed" user would and set it up as a new phone but don't sync anything. Then, when you use Pwnage Tool as if it was a new, unPwned phone, you'll use DFU mode when prompted. Some users are able to restore all their settings but I tend to set up my phone as a new one each time. I grab a copy of my notes and SMS files via SFTP before upgrading.

    I've had no stability issues that needed improving. A little lag when contacts is first started and some minor keyboard lag in SMS typing, but that was all. I'd say there has been some improvement to both these overall but for me, at any rate, the lag in 2.0 wasn't too bad in the first place.

    As far as performance regarding signal strength. My flat is in a very bad area for all mobile reception but I've noticed no difference overall.
     
  8. spinstorm macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #8
    The DevTeam specifically STOPPED the modem being updated using pwnage because they said it MAY MAKE IT IMPOSSIBLE TO UNLOCK if the baseband is upgraded.

    MAY - maybe not - they are not sure but they didn't want to risk it so disabled it.

    I know winpwn has a bug where it may update your baseband even if you don't want it to (like mine did) so you may end up with the new version anyway but if you stick to the mac version you will stay on 1.45.00
     
  9. DN7335 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    #9
    I wish this had been a specific option in winpwn though. Guess I'll just be thankful that there's a workaround.
     
  10. Enigmafan420 macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #10
    Can someone tell me the importance of this please? My modem shows 01.48.02-and I am 2.0.2 pwned-so not sure if I should restore or??? I believe my Wife's 3g (non-pwned) is 1.45.

    Thanks from a n00b!:)
     
  11. DN7335 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    #11
    The importance is some have claimed that the newer (1.48.02) modem driver gives them better reception. However, the dev team says that updating to this newer driver might prevent unlocking in the future, so they disabled it from the latest pwn. Since you already have it, I'm not sure if there is a way to downgrade should you want to. Me personally, I don't need to unlock so I'm going to update with official firmware to get the 1.48 driver then reapply my pwned firmware...which means I have to resync all my stuff again...sigh...
     
  12. Enigmafan420 macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #12
    Brother-I feel your pain-I had to pwn 3 times before I got it to work correctly-and restore to Apple Firmware twice-and I of course resynced EACH TIME just to be sure I lost nothing-I spent most of Saturday and part of Sunday morning getting it to work.

    It finally does-yeah-tonight I am a goin' a teatherin...
     
  13. DN7335 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    #13
    I installed the official 2.0.1 firmware, then reinstalled my pwned copy (did that in DFU mode just in case, not sure if I had to or not). I did retain the new modem driver 1.48.2. Haven't been able to see a difference yet but I'll keep checking.

    I also bypassed doing the restore from backup. It takes me almost 2 hours and its quicker for me to just set the phone up again from scratch, at least I'm doing something instead of staring at that non moving progress bar. Got everything back reinstalled, in the process of updating my themes now.
     
  14. SpeedracerX macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    #14
    I thought about upgrading the baseband to 1.48 but then I started to hear about all the complaints that have started to surface. I think I'm going to play it safe and wait and see. My pwn'd iphone works great on 2.01 with the old baseband. I also don't have any plans to unlock but why upgrade with no way of reverting back to a known working version.
     

Share This Page