Modern Warfare 2 on VMWare Fusion 3

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by SteinMaster, Nov 10, 2009.

  1. SteinMaster macrumors 6502

    SteinMaster

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    Anyone installed and ran Modern Warfare 2 on VMWare Fusion 3? I just installed the new VMWare version and wanted to know how Modern Warfare 2 runs before I purchase the PC version of the game. VMWare Fusion 3 is supposed to improve PC gaming. I have a MBP UB late 2008. 2,53ghz; 4gb ram; stock graphics card. I am running Windows XP as my guest OS. Thanks
     
  2. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #2
    Good God you won't be able to play it! That's a 9400M, under Fusion? You might have a very slim chance playing under Bootcamp on lowest settings (when its out).
     
  3. macfanboy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #3
    that would be 2 days before the day after tomorrow
     
  4. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #4
    There is no chance in hell that it would run at anywhere near a playable rate.
     
  5. Hebes macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    #5
    I was wondering whether this would run using BootCamp with Windows XP (same hardware, I think. 15 -inch Macbook pro 2.53 GHz, 4GB RAM, 9400M only). I looked at the system requirements, and the hardware setup does pass the minimum specs (or, so I think). And since BootCamp is a straight-up dual boot, wouldn't it work better?

    Has anyone actually tried running this on a Macbook pro with this config?
     
  6. Winni macrumors 68030

    Winni

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    Germany.
    #6
    Of course it would run better in Boot Camp. But you still have toy hardware on those notebook computers that is nowhere near the requirements of current games.

    The smart thing is to stop playing hardware-catch up with the game industry and buy an Xbox 360 or a PS3 instead. You're guaranteed to enjoy Modern Warfare 2 on an Xbox 360. And you are also guaranteed to have an extremely lousy experience on -any- notebook with that game. It might not even be fun to play on a standard Mac Pro.
     
  7. palebluedot macrumors 6502a

    palebluedot

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #7
    Or you could NOT buy a substandard gaming system that runs things at 30FPS (i.e. consoles). :D

    But console vs PC wars aside.. your best bet is to get a Mac with a real discrete graphics card (9600/8600/ATI etc.) or build a gaming PC. You can build a gaming PC for about 500 bucks that should be able to run MW2 great, or any other PC game.

    Your 9400M is capable of running TF2. That's probably the last "modern" game it could run very well. Winni is incorrect in saying most notebooks cant run MW2. And a Mac Pro can DEFINITELY run MW2. There are notebooks on the market that are 2-3x more powerful than a XBOX 360... but they are PC notebooks and cost a pretty penny. Like I said if you want cheap go with a custom built gaming PC. Newegg.com has good deals on parts.
     
  8. ChevyMan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    #8
    Upgrade your graphics card and it'll work fine.
     
  9. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #9
    Yea, and go for the lesser experience. Although with MW2 they've deliberately butchered the game so it plays like a console game (no 3rd party servers, no console commands). But yea COD4 was running at less than HD resolution and could only get 30fps. The most middle range of PC's now will run much better than that.

    And actually Left4Dead 2 runs very well on my 9400M, and that comes out next week. A bit of a leap from TF2's 2007 launch ;).
     
  10. MRU Suspended

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Other
    #10
    Ignore my other skepticism...

    Out of curiousity I booted my Win 7 partition in Parallels 5. Ran Dragon age on very low settings and low res and whilst it was still choppy - it was playable (just). I was more surprised that it even worked at all to be honest. Virtualization has come a long way. Whether MW2 will even work we just don't know yet, but I'd suggest really going bootcamp if you want to play it properly at all.
     
  11. Rodus macrumors 6502a

    Rodus

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #11
    Garbage. Stuff the hobbled console version, your machine will be ok with MW2, not on high settings but it should be playable under bootcamp.
    As for all notebooks giving a lousy experience, I'm sure that's news to Alienware and their ilk. A Mac Pro will handle MW2 no problem.
    Make sure your Nvidia drivers are up to date before running.
     
  12. SteinMaster thread starter macrumors 6502

    SteinMaster

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #12
    OK. I have COD4 Mac version and it runs fine on my Mac. What I am gathering from most of these responses is to run MW2 from Boot Camp and use my higher video settings. I have the NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT card. I am hearing not to bother with running MW2 in VMWare Fusion 3. Am I right?
     
  13. sanddunes21 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    #13
    Games through VMFusion or Parallels are beyond terrible - as of now. For Modern Warfare 2 it would be faster to use punch cards.
     
  14. bmb012 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    #14
    Erm, nice try, but CoD4 and MW2 run at 60 fps on the 360 and ps3 (which makes it a bit of a rarity for those systems, sure), but it's going to run better than anything under a 4870.

    Of course, if you actually enjoy spending time fiddling with settings to get that optimal experience... :rolleyes:

    I'd love to see a $300 computer that can play MW2 at 60 fps...
     
  15. BeSweeet macrumors 68000

    BeSweeet

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    #15
    Don't even think about running any 3D game in VMware Fusion 3 or Parallels 5. They aren't made for gaming. Maybe Chess Titans or something will be playable.
     
  16. Zortrium macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    #16
    Bashing the 3D capabilities of VMware and Parallels is in vogue right now, but while it's true that MW2 wouldn't run acceptably, saying that their 3D capabilities are worthless is overblown. Half-Life 2 is perfectly playable in Fusion 3 on my iMac at close to maxed settings.
     
  17. mac2x macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    #17
    Shouldn't a late '08 MBP have a 9600GT in it as well? Agreed that it'll be a crapshoot trying to run a game on a virtual machine...if you want high performance graphics. :eek:
     
  18. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #18
    It has always been the way. As someone who runs both Bootcamp and Parallels, no. The 3D capabilities are quite worthless.

    Thanks for skipping through my post; MW1 and I'm guessing 2 run at less than HD resolution. I can't find the details but isn't it in 540p? My £500 PC (2x the cost of a PS3, 2.5x Xbox 360) runs it at a much higher resolution than that :rolleyes:.
    And with that computer I can play Crysis or almost every game ever made for Windows (late 80's-2009), use any controller I want, not pay to play online, use it for work, web browser, media organisation. Consoles are cheap but they're gimped.

    Good call sir!
     
  19. alkar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    #19
    I fired up CoD MW2 using CIder from Sims 3 and the game is definitely playable with a 8800GT (40fps average,sometimes goes up to 60fps)
     
  20. ChasePaisley macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Location:
    Southern California
    #20
    win.
     
  21. Wild-Bill macrumors 68030

    Wild-Bill

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Location:
    bleep
    #21
    :eek:

    What in-game settings did you use for the eye candy? I'm interested because I just happen to have an 8800gt. :D

    On another note, I'm sure they're release the Mac version of COD MW2 the day after COD MW3 is released....
     
  22. scubasme macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    #22
    Frustrations

    tryed installing MW2 on my macbook pro 3.06 solid state drive 4g of ram yesterday on a fresh install of windows 7 in fusion and i could not play the game. i dont do much gaming just sold my xbox to help me by this mac that costed 3500 and it can play a game that a 500 pc can play? any workarounds or what?
     
  23. MarkMS macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    #23
    How about doing more research next time. Fusion, Parallels, nor VirtualBox will be able to play games like that. Doesn't matter even if it's a $10k computer. Yes, VMware and Parallels say you can play games, but don't expect anything more than the old Quake, Unreal Tournament games and maybe Counter Strike: Source working well. Virtual machines can only go so far when it comes to virtualizing the video card. Plus, I think VMware misled some customers as the drivers to "play" games like Left 4 Dead can only be run in Windows XP. They can be installed on Windows 7, but it's a lot of hassle and you lose Aero in Vista and 7. Look in VMware's forums for additional info.

    As for a workaround, use Boot Camp with Windows 7 and use the Vista drivers from your OS X disc. If that doesn't work, consult Apple's Discussion forum or search in Google. Tons of tutorials out there now.
     
  24. Kaos Theory macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    #24
    I play CoD4 natively in OSX Snow Leopard on my 2009 24" iMac with max settings and no AA at 1920x1200 and average over 90 FPS. That's with a MOBILITY Radeon HD 4850. Max settings on a computer>console, so I would say you could easily get a game to run better than a console on something less than an HD 4870. I'm a hardcore player and VERY discerning when it comes to framerate stutter, lag, etc., and my iMac has never let me down. And I'd love to see a $300 console that could function like a computer. :p
    Fact of the matter is, if you play MW:2 under bootcamp with a 9600M GT, it will run fine. Just turn the graphics down to a CoD4 level. :apple:
     
  25. eatme macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Location:
    sydney
    #25
    Im running windows 7 on parallels 5, with setting utilising the majority of my 8 core Mac PRO / 16GB RAM and Modern Warfare 2 is still totally unplayable, you get all excited when the menus load perfectly, but as soon as the game starts you cant even move, a single mouse movement takes about 10 seconds.... so it will be a long time before a virtual machine can handle this sort of application (unless there is a way to utilise one video card for osx, and the other for parallels... gee theres an idea??)

    but as for bootcamp... well there is a different story!! Modern warfare 2 works an absolute treat on maxed settings with no lag and ive had it side by side with both xbox and PS3 versions and there is no comparison, the PC version blows them away visually, the detail is greater the speed is better and all without any issues....:apple:
     

Share This Page