Modern Warfare and Crysis MBP compatible?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by muymal, Jul 9, 2007.

  1. muymal macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    #1
    does anyone know? i typed those into google. i found the incrysis forum where everyone is just bashing a mac computer. i hope they are.

    thnx for any info
     
  2. zeppelin68 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    #2
    It really depends on the sys. requirements. With Crysis' speculated requriements, it looks like the 8600m will be able to run it well(probably medium settings), any possibly even the x1600 at low settings. Alot of times people don't even know that boot camp exists.
     
  3. muymal thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    #3
    i know bootcamp exists, but i was just wondering if i can just directly play it on a mac.

    thnx for the reply :)
     
  4. Erasmus macrumors 68030

    Erasmus

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Location:
    Hiding from Omnius in Australia
    #4
    http://www.electronicarts.com.au/en-au/games/pc/crysis/crysis/

    One would assume that now EA are releasing games for OSX, we can assume that they will release Crysis for OSX too. Of course, whether you actually want to run Crysis under OSX, when it is a no brainer that it will run 10 times better under XP or even better Vista for DX10 effects...

    You won't want to run Crysis under anything but Boot Camp. Framerate comparisons between Vista, XP and OSX show that very clearly.

    Unless Steve pulls out something amazing, like native, full speed DX10 support in Leopard... But that's not going to happen.

    (Unless Cider allows programs to run just as fast as they would under XP/Vista, in which case we just need a DX10 Cider wrapper)

    And the Santa Rosa Macbook Pro should run it quite nicely on moderate graphics settings.
     
  5. zeppelin68 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    #5
    lol I know you do I was just talking about the PC gamers on the forums.
     
  6. muymal thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    #6
    ok thnx, best bet is to just get a copy of xp pro then. probably will need it for college anyway. thnx. mac on :)
     
  7. Chone macrumors 65816

    Chone

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    #7
    You are safe with a SR MBP but if you have one of the old CD1 Macbook Pros like me then Crysis will run pretty badly... playable yes but at low settings.
     

Share This Page