Modify "About this mac"???

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by womb, Dec 15, 2007.

  1. womb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    #1
    hi all

    so as the topic speaks for himself.....is it possible ti modify system profile info on "About this mac" panel? or this is no go? I just got my 2.2GHz macbook pro 15" which I'd like to turn into 2.4GHz :D:D. I've googled for this one but less or more is all about some picture manipulation.



    cheers
    womb
     
  2. Much Ado macrumors 68000

    Much Ado

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    And sell en masse for an enormous profit on ebay? :rolleyes:
     
  3. Airforce macrumors 6502a

    Airforce

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    #3
    The only way you're going to turn your 2.2GHZ Macbook Pro into a 2.4GHZ is by overclocking it. Have fun. Watch out for burns ;)
     
  4. bartelby macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #4
    Just by changing the figure doesn't actually change the processor. So why spend the time and effort doing it? :confused:
     
  5. womb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    #5
    sorry but I don't do stuff like that :rolleyes:. Im asking beacuse a friend of mine managed to change his "about this mac" profile in his hackintosh. when I tryed to do the same on my mac I failed. but don't know why didn't work for me.
     
  6. bmcgrath macrumors 65816

    bmcgrath

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
  7. todd2000 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Location:
    Danville, VA
    #7
    What's the point?
     
  8. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
  9. womb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    #9
    not much, but I'd still lke to see if its possible to pimp it
     
  10. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #10
    I know it is certainly possible to "pimp" your OS version.

    Picture 2.png

    I think system specs are a no-go though for obvious reasons.
     
  11. womb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
  12. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #12
  13. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #13
    This doesn't belong in Programming. I've put it in Mac Basics.
     
  14. womb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    #14

    im using my moms PC :p here. i dont have my mbp with me at the moment
     
  15. WildPalms macrumors 6502a

    WildPalms

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    #15
    So, come on Womb, 'fess up... its really your hackintosh...isnt it....
     
  16. Much Ado macrumors 68000

    Much Ado

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #16
    Was about to ask the very same question :D
     
  17. womb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    #17
    not really. Im Mac pristine. I can even take some snapshots latter of my macbook pro and my iMac if u don't belive me.
     

Share This Page