Modifying Time Machine backup interval

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by James83448, Jun 10, 2015.

  1. James83448 macrumors regular

    James83448

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    #1
    I don't want to use TimeMachineEditor as I would rather use a native app (Time Machine) to achieve the same outcome.

    I'm following this tutorial to modify a .plist file, which apparently modifies the backup interval.

    I have opened the com.apple.backupd-auto.plist, although there seems to be 2 things with the standard value of 3600 seconds:
    Code:
    <dict>
                    <key>Interval</key>
                    <integer>3600</integer>
                    <key>Delay</key>
                    <integer>3600</integer>
                    <key>GracePeriod</key>
                    <integer>1800</integer>
                    <key>Repeating</key>
                    <true/>
                    <key>AllowBattery</key>
                    <true/>
                    <key>PowerNap</key>
                    <true/>
                    <key>Priority</key>
                    <string>Utility</string>
    </dict>
    I'm not sure weather to edit both values or just the first one "Interval", as both "Interval" and "Delay" imply the same thing.

    Can anybody offer some advice please?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #2
    Changing the backup interval using Terminal is easy, check this link for more info.
     
  3. James83448 thread starter macrumors regular

    James83448

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    #3
    Thanks for the reply, it doesn't seem to update the "Next Backup" time though. I entered the equivalent of 23 hours (in seconds), and the next backup seems to be in 15 minutes.

    I've tried the command with TM both active and deactivate (although when it was active, it wasn't actually backing up at the time).
     
  4. cincygolfgrrl macrumors 6502

    cincygolfgrrl

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Location:
    Somewhere In Time
    #4
  5. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #5
    Yes, that's the same App the OP mentions in his original post, the one he does not want to use.
     
  6. James83448 thread starter macrumors regular

    James83448

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    #6
    Thanks for all replies.

    I've decided not to use TM, and chose CCC to backup to 2 EHD's.
     

Share This Page