mojave. apfs. raid.

Discussion in 'macOS Mojave (10.14)' started by nathansz, Jun 19, 2018.

  1. nathansz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2017
    #1
    anything new here?

    will mojave allow raid on apfs ?
     
  2. iamtheonlyone4ever Suspended

    iamtheonlyone4ever

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    #2
    yes it can be done, but not the normal regular way
    you have to enter a few commands and mount the drive manually
    honestly not worth the hassle
    I did it, I already know how
    but is really not worth it
    is better to wait for official support

    RAID0+HFS+ is a piece of cake
    but when we change HFS+ to APFS
    not only are we changing the FS but also the disk structure changes
    yes I do know how to install APFS in RAID0 and boot from the RAID0 Volume
    so yes is possible but is not officially support it or it will not allow you to do it normally
    unless you run some commands to be able to bypass a few things

    the easiest way is to clone a non raid drive with Mojave already install on it
    to the RAID+APFS volume
    but then you will have to mount the raid volume manually

    do not even think about installing Mojave directly to the raid volume
    yes I also know how to do that but it will take some more commands
    the easier way is by cloning the single drive to the raid0
    then you will skip about 80 to 90% of the whole painful process and all you will have to left is just the end of the guide

    boot with -v -s
    mount the Raid0 Volume manually
    /sbin/mount -uw /
    hit enter or return
    touch /System/Library/Extensions/
    now type
    exit
    hit enter or return
    now it will boot
     
  3. bluehello macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2018
    #3
    Can you specifically tell me how to install it on a APFS JBOD with 3 SSDs? I have already formatted the drives and I’m running Mojave on an external drive, any help would be appreciated.
     
  4. Jay_S_CT macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    #4
    I'm running Sierra on RAID 0 PCI/E card (Sonnett Tempo Pro). Have not had success on High Sierra with that config as it would not recognize a RAID 0 as bootable. Sounds like with Mojave and HFS+ it works fairly straight forward??

    What's the best method (since it's a piece of cake) :) Is it upgrade to a single HFS+ external drive and clone back to the RAID Set? (Guess I have to wait for official version of CCC with Mojave support?)...

    Would appreciate any help? On an older Mac Pro but Mojave indicates it's supported. Thanks!!

    Jay S.
     
  5. iamtheonlyone4ever, Sep 12, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2018

    iamtheonlyone4ever Suspended

    iamtheonlyone4ever

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    #5
    yes the method is exactly how you mentioned
    install Mojave on a single drive then create a raid set in HFS+ using DU
    now clone the single drive to the raid volume as long as your card is supported it should boot right away
    keep in mind that some cards are recognized by the OS but sometimes those card are for storage only
    meaning they are not bootable, so as long as your card has booting capabilities then it should be no problem

    don't waste your time with APFS+RAID
    you can use APFS+RAID without any problem but not for a bootable system
    while a bootable APFS+RAID can be done is really not worth it, too much trouble and at this time we still don't know
    if the reason why the iMac Pro has a bootable raid volume is because the T2 Chip

    you have a few options
    install Mojave on APFS on a single drive then create a APFS+RAID volume to do tasks
    not to install Mac OS
    or simply create a bootable HFS+ RAID volume

    a single M.2 drive will give you excellent system performance then you can use a M.2 RAID for extreme performance

    the same goes for SATA,yes, they are slower than PCI-E M.2 but better than mechanical drives

    best of luck
     
  6. Jay_S_CT macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    #6

    Thanks for the reply. Currently there are two EVO 850s on the Sonnett card and it boots incredibly fast (Sierra) on the Mac Pro. I'm hoping the same will still be the case with Mojave.. Would like to get to the new Pro Video apps which required High Sierra. The system recognizes the drive as bootable under Sierra, and yes, not sure I'm ready to make a jump to APFS.. From other I've spoken with (even at Apple), it is still a "work in process". The process we're talking about did not work with High Sierra..

    I guess the first test will be to see if Mojave will let me format it as a RAID 0 Set in DU. Would like to use CCC, but will have to wait for the Mojave version to come out.

    Jay S.
     
  7. iamtheonlyone4ever Suspended

    iamtheonlyone4ever

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    #7
    hi the only good news that I heard today in the apple event was the launch date of Mojave, Sep 24, yes is a good idea to stick to HFS+ if you are planning on booting from the Raid Volume, you don't have to wait until the release date, you can test the latest beta, I'm sure your card will still have support for Mojave, I really hope so, but you know how apple love to remove and discontinue support for devices, anyway I hope you will be able to install Mojave and have bootable Raid

    last time I tried Mojave, there it was a beta version of CCC that works on Mojave
    also there are other clone apps just in case CCC doesn't work for you
    I think one is called super duper, well something like that

    best of luck to you
    the wait should be over in around 13 days
    :D
     
  8. SimonTheSoundMa macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
  9. GuilleA macrumors regular

    GuilleA

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    Location:
    Buenos Aires
    #9
    I'm running my 2012 Mini with two SSDs in RAID0, still on Sierra. I skipped HS since the support wasn't there, so I decided to wait for Mojave. I want to keep my RAID (~1000MB/s) and I don't kind if I have to stick to HFS+. Can Mojave boot from an HFS+ RAID0?
     
  10. crjackson2134 macrumors 601

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #10
    You will have to install Mojave on a separate drive 1st (APFS). Then clone it to your raid drive. It will boot, but you won’t get any updates as they come out. You can keep the other install you made, boot it once in a while for updates, then clone it over your to raid drive each time. However, at some point, it’s possible this will stop working too.
     
  11. RobbieTT macrumors 6502

    RobbieTT

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #11
    From elsewhere on the web:

     
  12. GuilleA macrumors regular

    GuilleA

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    Location:
    Buenos Aires
    #12
    Based on this method, I should be able to clean install Mojave from USB directly onto a RAID 0 with APFS. I'll wait to the first .1 release and see if updates can be installed.
     
  13. RobbieTT macrumors 6502

    RobbieTT

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #13
    Thinking the same thing before taking the plunge with my i7 Mac mini - it is my only Mac with a pair of SSDs in it so nothing else to experiment on. Everything else just has a single SSD (or a Fusion in the case of my iMac).
     
  14. mikeboss macrumors 65816

    mikeboss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Location:
    switzerland
    #14
    WTF?

    quote from SoftRAID Forum -> https://www.softraid.com/forum/showthread.php?tid=974

    With the release of 10.14 Mojave, users can no longer startup from RAID volumes. This includes any SoftRAID volume and Apple RAID volumes.

    There is no workaround for this, and we do not expect there to be a solution going forward.

    We had several discussions with Apple to see if they would re-enable booting in the future, but the chances are slim to zero.

    Prepare to migrate your startup volumes to Apple standard volumes before attempting to install Mojave.
     
  15. crjackson2134, Sep 19, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2018

    crjackson2134 macrumors 601

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #15
    I read that too... But... Have a loot at this link!

    https://www.softraid.com/pages/support/compatibility_notes.html

    • SoftRAID 6.0 will be fully compatible with APFS disks and volumes. You'll be able to create and manage APFS volumes and SoftRAID 6.0 will also offer extra functionality to allow you to further manipulate APFS volumes. At the same time you'll still get all SoftRAID's great existing functionality, whether you're working with APFS or HFS formatted disks. If you are interested in finding out more about SoftRAID 6.0 beta please contact support@softraid.com.
     
  16. RobbieTT macrumors 6502

    RobbieTT

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #16
    Colour me confused.

    Although I was confused from the point where HS allowed boot drives to be striped in RAID 0 but then fail to boot from them.
     
  17. mikeboss macrumors 65816

    mikeboss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Location:
    switzerland
    #17
    @crjackson2134

    yeah ok, APFS. but still, it is not possible to boot from RAID volumes anymore.
     
  18. crjackson2134, Sep 20, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2018

    crjackson2134 macrumors 601

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #18
    I don't know WTH they're doing over there. It's a raid app, so why even update it to support APFS if you're not going to be able to boot it. :confused:

    I guess it's becoming an app for data drives only then. That sure takes the wind out of the sails!
     
  19. _LiveSorcerer_ macrumors newbie

    _LiveSorcerer_

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2018
    Location:
    Indaiatuba-SP/Brazil

Share This Page

18 June 19, 2018