Mojave Beta 2 on Mac Pro

Discussion in 'macOS Mojave (10.14)' started by haralds, Jun 19, 2018.

  1. haralds macrumors 6502a

    haralds

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
    #1
    My Mac Pro 5,1 mid 2010 with 2012 processors has the prerequisite for beta 2 - Metal capable Radeon 7970 and no FileVault.
    It rejected me on the installer after downloading it on another system. With this issue you also cannot download. I suspect the card is not seen as valid.

    I used the terminal prompt
    "sudo /Applications/Install\ macOS\ Mojave\ Beta.app/Contents/Resources/startosinstall" and it worked.

    Some issues with iMessage not letting me log in. I will try the old PRAM reset for that.
     
  2. t8er8 macrumors regular

    t8er8

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #2
    So is it only available to people with 7970’s? Or is that just the one you have
     
  3. jkh911208 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2017
    #3
    hope to see more DP.
    I have gt120, so I don't think I can help tough.
     
  4. trifero macrumors 6502

    trifero

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    #4
    Not working with my 7950, though it´s metal capable


    ☹️
     
  5. haralds thread starter macrumors 6502a

    haralds

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
    #5
    That is the one I have. It needs to support Metal.
    --- Post Merged, Jun 19, 2018 ---
    Have your tried the command line I mentioned? It fixed it. But do not yet try this your MAIN system. I have this on a 512GB SSD just for betas.
    --- Post Merged, Jun 19, 2018 ---
    PRAM Reset fixed iMessages. Hopefully it will still work booting back into High Sierra.
     
  6. trifero macrumors 6502

    trifero

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    #6
    Which one?


    This ?


    "sudo /Applications/Install\ macOS\ Mojave\ Beta.app/Contents/Resources/startosinstall"
     
  7. haralds thread starter macrumors 6502a

    haralds

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
    #7
    Yes.
    You can google its options - target startup disk, APFS conversion etc.
     
  8. lilins macrumors member

    lilins

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2018
    Location:
    Villeurbanne
    #8
    tried to update my first beta and now it won't boot anymore :)
    i think now that he checks video card he doesn't like my vega 64 ^^
     
  9. crjackson2134, Jun 19, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2018

    crjackson2134 macrumors 601

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #9
    Good to hear. I don’t have an eligible Mac I can download with, otherwise I’d give it a go on a testing drive. I’m looking forward to Apple making this available for my 5,1.
     
  10. Squuiid macrumors 65816

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #10
    RX580 here and App Store won’t allow the download. Incompatible machine.
    cMP 2010
     
  11. haralds thread starter macrumors 6502a

    haralds

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
    #11
    I had to use a compatible machine to get access.
     
  12. lilins macrumors member

    lilins

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2018
    Location:
    Villeurbanne
    #12
    well app store won't allow me the download either, had to d/l from another mac, will check the installer
     
  13. eksu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2017
    #13
    So you were able to update from MacOS High Sierra to Mojave from within the OS?

    Are we able to do a clean install from USB?
     
  14. lilins macrumors member

    lilins

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2018
    Location:
    Villeurbanne
    #14

    well, the installer let me do it but I didn't have any display after install :)

    so I tried install from scratch on separate drive.

    it works well: good news, marzipan apps work on this build!

    Capture d’écran 2018-06-20 à 09.57.32.jpg
     
  15. cmonroe macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #15
    2010 Mac Pro 5,1.. similar issues as mentioned above w.r.t. downloading from the app store so I did so from another machine and copied it over. Once copied onto the Mac Pro, I launched the installed and it ran with no issues.. did not have to run startosinstall from the command line.

    Normally I run with a Radeon RX580 graphics card (standard PC version).. due to the EFI update included in Mojave I had to put my GTX 680 (Mac Edition) back in during the upgrade process; mainly so the EFI update would complete. Once the update was complete I popped the RX580 back in and all is well. Updated from 10.13.6 Beta 2 -> 10.14 DP2 (18A314h) with no issues.

    Note than the EFI update brought me from Boot ROM Version MP51.0084.B00 -> MP51.0085.B00. Currently running dual Xeon X5690s and the CPU microcode version was at 31 before the upgrade and did not change after the upgrade.

    So far so good! Still going through my usual apps (had to get the latest betas of LittleSnitch and Carbon Copy Cloner) but no major issues after an hour or so.
     
  16. lilins macrumors member

    lilins

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2018
    Location:
    Villeurbanne
    #16
    Here are my efi version info and also 5.1 2010. I did the install with only my VEGA 64 (blind boot) no issue.

    Capture d’écran 2018-06-20 à 11.19.32.png Capture d’écran 2018-06-20 à 11.19.40.png
     
  17. AlexMaximus macrumors 6502a

    AlexMaximus

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    A400M Base
    #17

    For the next and last three years of cMP usage, I think about if I should jump ship and sell my 980Ti for a Vega 64 like you have.

    Can you tell me how the Vega 64 works for you? Are drivers good, are fan issues gone, in short are you happy with your Vega 64 performance wise ?
     
  18. Squuiid macrumors 65816

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #18
    That's pretty interesting. From that it sounds like Apple have removed the 087 firmware in the latest Mojave Beta and replaced it with the older 085, due to the missing microcode in 087 one would presume!
     
  19. lilins macrumors member

    lilins

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2018
    Location:
    Villeurbanne
    #19
    honestly i am happy with it. i don’t have fan issue but i had to mod my pcie fan because i chose the monster Nitro+ from sapphire, and it can’t fit with default fan. you will find some of the pics of it in place. in the amd radeon and pixlas mod thread. on the other hand on this model fan is a breeze :)

    on the power side i still need to test an optimized metal game on mac, but well, on the mac side it operates on xp11 better than the 1070 in my previous hackintosh, and on windows side guild wars 2 is almost ultra settings in 4k.
     
  20. cmonroe macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #20
    Aha! I recall reading another thread in this forum about missing microcode and was a bit weary to upgrade the EFI firmware. So many numbers moving around I just assumed it was 85, not 87. Time to go catch up on the microcode thread now :)

    If there's anything else I can provide I'm ore than happy to.
    --- Post Merged, Jun 20, 2018 ---
    Sounds like you've had great luck with an ATI card like I have, albeit I'm running the RX 580 8GB. Do you have any idea how the RX 580 and your Vega would compare (roughly)? I use my 5,1 heavily with a couple of 4K monitors and it seems to keep up but I don't often game. Are there any desktop level improvements to going with a Vega card over something like the RX 580?

    AlexMaximus asked a similar question comparing to the 980Ti which got me thinking. I suspect my RX 580 is plenty for what I need but always curious.. I have all kinds of crazy PCI cards, drives and add-ons in my 5,1 so it's safe to say I'm glued to it for now.
     
  21. lilins, Jun 20, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2018

    lilins macrumors member

    lilins

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2018
    Location:
    Villeurbanne
    #21
    Honestly my Vega 64 is only for games, for my daily use it is overkill I think :) I have only one 4K monitor but if you know tests or benchmark I could run, I can do :)

    If you want we can make a engine valley test to see what difference we have in graphic power between the 2 cards on Mac Open GL :)
     
  22. lilins macrumors member

    lilins

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2018
    Location:
    Villeurbanne
    #22
    Update, MacFansControl not working on Mojave Beta 2 :)
     
  23. Squuiid macrumors 65816

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #23
    Downloaded the Mojave beta 2 installer on another Mac and ran it from the desktop of my 2010 cMP with RX580.
    Installed fine.
    Marzipan apps are pretty slow to refresh but other than that all seems to work pretty well for a beta.
    Continuity remained in place as did TRIM.
    Steam need to get their act together though as their app is still 32bit. macOS gives a warning about it.
    uBlock Origin is removed from Safari for supposedly impacting browsing performance.
     
  24. eksu, Jun 20, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2018

    eksu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2017
    #24
    Installed Mojave Beta 2 from USB onto APFS Apple Pro Raid 10.

    Running great, little slow while things cache in the background. (EDIT: Real problem was something is slamming the disk writing logs [I think Messages on iCloud], so I disabled spindump).

    Dark mode is awesome.
     
  25. AaronE macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #25
    Can I do the EFI update without a native Mac graphics card? I have a GTX 980 and 660, but they aren't flashed for Mac. I don't think my GT120's will work either.
     

Share This Page

63 June 19, 2018